PDA

View Full Version : Pretty new to EQ, Advice on Halfling Rogues?

Ac888
12-25-2014, 05:44 PM
Hey I'm pretty new to this game, this being my first EQ server, I have a couple other characters on here that I leveled a little but nothing close to end game.

I decided to make a Halfling Rogue cause I wanted to try one out and liked the idea of just plain dpsing things down rather than tanking and they have a nice exp bonus with Halfings too, also being small makes good for rogues imo.

Just looking for some advice on what items I should work on getting first and good places to farm plat for a lowbie :)

Thanks!

Doil_Boil
12-25-2014, 10:14 PM
Farming plat isn't really worth the time for a lowbie. Rock out some exp, try to loot as much as you can to get a decent primary weap, and level up. Once you get higher level the plat comes a lot more quickly.

Cillaz
12-25-2014, 11:06 PM
As a rogue try and get a set of banded or ringmail armour (should be around 60-100pish for a set) And keep an eye out as sometimes people give away newbie/lowbie items. If you see me online send me a tell and I'll see if I can get you a strarting stabber!

Jimjam
12-26-2014, 02:56 AM
The first think you need is a good weapon.

I recommend a piercing weapon with as high DMG as you can afford. This will synergise well with your backstab ability at level ten. Before level 5 you might want to settle for a weapon with 8 DMG, as this will let you one-hit-kill level 1 mobs for xp.

Bone chips, spiderling silks and high quality bear skins are things you want to save to vendor to players in order to afford this first weapon. Any left over bone chips you can save to turn in for XP in the dwarf city of kaladim.

Typically I start my new characters in North Ro, killing decaying skeletons around the inn just outside of East Freeport. You will get a few bags/boxes and some rusty weapons and cloth you can vendor straight to the merchant there.