PDA

View Full Version : New player here!

Snrub
01-13-2015, 10:31 AM
Greetings all,

I am an old EQ veteran (played from 1999 all the way through 2010 before finally hanging it up). I have been aware of this server for a long time but never got around to giving it a shot until now.

I was curious as to what the grouping situation is like in the low to mid level game and what the popular hangout spots are?

I originally rolled an Erudite Magician, got to level six, and then rerolled as a Human Enchanter out of Freeport (now also level six) for a few reasons. First being, my main for my entire EQ lifetime was a Magician. I also eventually had a max level Cleric and Bard, but my classic, non-powerleveled EQ experience is solely as a Magician, so there's a bit of a "been there, done that" feeling. Also, I decided I wanted to roll a more group friendly class rather than a solo friendly class. Leveling up in classic for me as my Magician was done mostly solo due to difficultly of finding groups, and thus I missed out on a lot of things. There were a bunch of zones I never really spent much time in when they were level appropriate, such as Paw, Cazic Thule, Upper and Lower Guk, etc. It wasn't really until well into my 50s that I became a regular full-group player.

I know it's possible, but difficult, to solo as an enchanter, but I don't really want to go that route. Am I going to be sitting around with nothing to do as soloing becomes more difficult because I can't find groups? Keep in mind I am coming into the server fresh, I am completely untwinked and lack any sort of connection to other players on the server at this point.

TheDoja
01-13-2015, 11:13 AM
Once you get Charm as an Enchanter, you are one of the best solo classes is the game along with Necromancer.

Look up some charm kiting techniques and locations.

http://xornn.tripod.com/introduction.htm

or the wiki version of this guide

http://wiki.project1999.com/Xornns_Enchanter_Guide