PDA

View Full Version : Few questions from a new player

Saysay
01-14-2015, 10:06 AM
Hi,

I am completely new to Everquest. After reading some of the passionate postings on mmorpg.com about this game (and one in particular pointing me to Project 1999) I decided to check it out. Last night I rolled my first character, a gnome enchanter on the Red server--and after about 3 1/2 hours of game play I have a few questions.

So far I have explored most of the cave-town I started in (Az'akan?) and been killing gnome skeletons and rats outside on the left (Steamfront Mountains?). Those might not be right but I am logged out at the moment. After I hit level 3 I jogged back into town and talked to my trainer but I have no idea what I am supposed to be training, or what that even does. At level 1, during my initial exploration, I found the trainer and put points into alteration, conjuration, and evocation after briefly reading up on them. The skills themselves still listed as being awful--what exactly does leveling up the skill at the trainer do then? I've tried pulling up a few guides but it has been hard to find guides that are relevant to this version of the game as most of what I have been reading seems to be for the newer expansions.

Where can I pick up spells? A guide I was reading said in PoK, not sure where that is (or maybe its a new area). I have almost a full set of cloth armor from farming the mobs outside of the town but have not received an upgraded dagger and the weaponsmith didn't have one (the one I have does 3 points of damage). Will I be able to upgrade that soon?

It is good to be playing here. I am hoping to make it past the archaic interface and combat system (most like a MUD with graphics) to enjoy some of the awesome grouping I heard about on the mmorpg.com forums. See you in game.

Jigawatts
01-14-2015, 12:47 PM
First off, welcome.