PDA

View Full Version : Game Mechanics: Mage word drops

dafier
05-20-2015, 11:23 AM
I am fairly new to P99. 6 monthish of playing....

I have 2 different characters and have been a few places....a lot of different zones and have enjoy the experience very much.

Maybe this is a bug, maybe it's working as intended, but the drop rate all over Norrath of Mage Words for research is is about 1/10th the drop rate of Necro/Enchanter and Wizard words/pages/runes.

If I see a word drop that happens to be a mage research item, I am seriously amazed.

Of course if this is not a 'bug' then I apologize for posting here.

Thanks for your time.

*This is only my experience and before posting I had started marking it down on paper to make sure it's not a skewed perspective.

Daldaen
05-20-2015, 11:30 AM
Well one thing to remember with Mage words is Magicians usually only have 1-2 words per level because the pet spells usually use the same word.

Enchanters, Necros and Wizards generally have 6-7 page components per level.

If you're including the Mage non-word pieces (Ice of Velious, etc.) then the drop rates should be more even.

The suck is that you need 1 of the words x 5-6 per level. Whereas all the other classes only need 1-2 of each.

dafier
05-20-2015, 11:40 AM
Well one thing to remember with Mage words is Magicians usually only have 1-2 words per level because the pet spells usually use the same word.

Enchanters, Necros and Wizards generally have 6-7 page components per level.

If you're including the Mage non-word pieces (Ice of Velious, etc.) then the drop rates should be more even.

The suck is that you need 1 of the words x 5-6 per level. Whereas all the other classes only need 1-2 of each.

Yep, I thought about all that, just didn't convey it. Thanks! As for non-word pieces; Yes, that is very correct. The drop rates on those is decent enough for me NOT to post a concern about them.