PDA

View Full Version : Green Silken Drape vs. Advisor Robe for Necro

FAHall
07-19-2011, 01:37 PM
Hey Guys,

Which is better for first run toon, Erudite Necromancer, with practically no gear? I boosted STA and STR at creation if that matters.

Green Silken Drape (9 STA, 9 DEX, INT 3, 15 Sv Poison) or Advisor Robe(5int, 20 Mana, 5sv Magic)?

I have access to both, so cost is not an issue.

And if you could explain why one is better than the other, that would be helpful. I'm very new to this game and trying to figure out what I should be looking for in future gear upgrades.

Thanks,
-Alex

Nagash
07-19-2011, 01:45 PM
On these 2 pieces of gear, the important stats for the necro are:
Advisor robe: Int +5 Mana +20
Green silken drap: Sta +9 Int +3 (maybe the +9 agi if you are under 75)

Stamina is important for necro but the return on stamina investment is fairly low (you're better off with straight forward +hp gear). With this in mind, I would say the advisor robe is the way to go unless
- you already have some super gear (way above 200 INT) and try to max out your stamina and hp
- or (and that is a maybe) you try to reach 75 agility

Nagash/Petitpas

guineapig
07-19-2011, 01:51 PM
I would say it highly depends on where your int/manapool is at not including the robe slot and also on your current level.

The reason being is that, while hitpoints are usually more important than mana for a necro, at lower levels the 9 stamina will not give you a very big return. Also the 20 mana is guaranteed but the +5 int means different things at different levels/int soft caps.

The +dex is pretty cool however at lower levels when necros can still melee the mobs they are fighting (ice crystal staff). Also the +15 poison will give you a better return than the +5 magic in most situations unless you are on a raid (non-trak raid) where stacking SvM is key.

Personally I would carry both robes so I can swap depending on the situation. Both have good attributes.

FAHall
07-19-2011, 01:54 PM