PDA

View Full Version : Hello, new here, thinking about rolling a rogue.

Van
08-28-2012, 11:47 AM
Hello, I'm new to Everquest in general. I've been trying to read various guides and forum posts about how to make a rogue, but some of the stuff seems to contradict itself.

The rogue page on the wiki says to put 25 points of stamina for all characters while Zerk's Rogue Guide also on the wiki says it's "un-needed". Also, a post in the "Rogue: Which class, deity?" thread, and the rogue page on the wiki, seems to recommend a Dwarf among other races while the same guide that was mentioned earlier does not recommend it and would have picked a Wood Elf instead.

Did I mess up in rolling a Dwarf with 25 Stamina, 5 agility? On a side note, do I need to have the trainer put a point into sneak before I can use and earn more points in that skill?

theaetatus
08-28-2012, 01:31 PM
You should be able to use Sneak and Hide from level 1, if I remember right. Either open your Abilities window with Ctrl-O and going to the appropriate tab then right-clicking a button and assigning Hide or Sneak then dragging over to a hotbar, or go to Skills and make a hotkey for it.

As for race etc, I'd recommend going Barbarian as you get Slam and great starting stats. Stick your points in str and dex, you're not meant to be tanking ;)

Raavak
08-28-2012, 01:35 PM
Yeah, str is probably your main stat because it affects your dps, which is your main job. Dex helps you with procs (?right?)

Race matters some, but play what you like. Even starting stats aren't going to make or break you.

Hide-sneak fails alot at low levels. You need to successfully hide (not too hard) and then sneak (fails alot at lvl 1). If you fail you need to rehide, then try to sneak again when it refreshes.

falkun
08-28-2012, 01:42 PM
From a min/max point of view, you messed up by putting stats into AGI. Stat priority for a rogue is Haste > STR > STA >>>>> DEX > AGI.