PDA

View Full Version : Why the pet exp penalty came about?

BennoFlo
12-13-2012, 06:11 PM
Is there any reason besides afk leveling that this change came about?

I just started playing a necro and was totally unaware of this change until today. I started EQ on live in the velious era and played a bard, so this didn't affect me, but after reading a few forum posts, it really urks me.

I feel one of the key points of a pet class is to utilize, buff, and accent your pet to be a successful player, and I feel like these changes almost divert from that concept. For example, if I get spells to buff my pet's damage later on, I will in no way be encouraged to use them because it greatly increases the chance of losing the dmg race with my pet.

Also, since this is a community server and not run by a bunch of corporate BS, was this change a consensus among players? It just seems so counter-intuitive in my knowledge of old world and new world mmo's to intentionally nerf your pet's potential in order for higher experience gain.

Thoughts?

Furniture
12-13-2012, 06:18 PM
in case you havent noticed the devs here are trying to emulate the mechanics for the era the servers in

ManticSquee
12-13-2012, 07:29 PM
It's just the way the game is set up. Different races and classes have unique abilities that are offset by xp penalties. If you are say a Troll Shadow Knight you would have 68% xp penalty essentially. You wouldn't be losing xp just required to gain much more than a class/race combo that has less important abilities. Just look at pet classes as receiving a penalty for having the unique and powerful ability to use pets. At least when you are grouped it goes away and there are other ways around it also.

Heavydrop
12-13-2012, 10:54 PM
Thought it was just mages that had the pet exp penalty and not necros?

ManticSquee
12-14-2012, 03:44 AM