Project 1999

Project 1999 (/forums/index.php)
-   Blue Server Chat (/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Something smells fishy in PoM... (/forums/showthread.php?t=426430)

Ankou 12-05-2023 03:37 PM

Something smells fishy in PoM...

I'm pretty new to PoM, but I understand there are mobs named: You, Shall, Not, and Pass.

I would guess this is a reference to the LOTR Movies' Gandalf quote, but the Fellowship of the Ring movie did not come out until December 2001 (same month as Luclin). Whereas POM released with Velious.

So... if not the LOTR movies, what are these mobs referencing? Something is wrong with the timeline here!

Note: the original quote in the Fellowship book is, "You cannot pass", so it isn't that.

Toxigen 12-05-2023 03:55 PM

the movies are based on books dawg

Ankou 12-05-2023 04:07 PM

Brah, you didn't read my whole post- the quote is different in the books. The word 'shall' is not in it.

Toxigen 12-05-2023 04:22 PM

dunno mayne maybe the lizardpeepul informed brad

DeathsSilkyMist 12-05-2023 04:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ankou (Post 3664830)
I'm pretty new to PoM, but I understand there are mobs named: You, Shall, Not, and Pass.

I would guess this is a reference to the LOTR Movies' Gandalf quote, but the Fellowship of the Ring movie did not come out until December 2001 (same month as Luclin). Whereas POM released with Velious.

So... if not the LOTR movies, what are these mobs referencing? Something is wrong with the timeline here!

Note: the original quote in the Fellowship book is, "You cannot pass", so it isn't that.

That is an interesting thought. I guess it would depend upon why the movie chose to change the quote to " You shall not pass". Perhaps this was some meme or misquote that existed before the movies were made?

Or it could be they added/changed those mobs after Luclin came out. Is there any evidence showing these mobs were named that (or existed) before Luclin came out?

strongNpretty 12-05-2023 04:42 PM