Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Blue Community > Blue Server Chat

Closed Thread

Old 03-20-2011, 10:41 AM
Orc

Default At what age did you first start playing EverQuest, and what draws you in?

Personally I started playing at around age 9 or 10 when the game had just hit the market... And although I wasn't mature enough to understand the depth, I sure could appreciate the complexity of such a magnificent game. Meeting other players and just talking to them about anything and everything as the years went on is what made me love EverQuest.

I'll admit that I am human, and I pass the regular Ol Joe on the street and I'm not one to take a conversation farther than a simple hello at times with new people. Why? Because of the face value effect... And because I've been a generally shy person when I'm not working. EverQuest allowed me to not use the physical form as an awkward excuse to not get to know many people, and I learned to appreciate a lot of good qualities in people that I seemed to pass up in real life.

Of course I love the loot, the grind, and the quest... But ultimately I loved the culture I discovered among the players, and the experiences I shared with them over the past 12 years.

So let me know! What age were you? Why come back to such an "outdated" game? I hope that one day I can share experiences with you fellow players, and I can enjoy the game just like I did back in the day!
Old 03-20-2011, 10:53 AM
Sarnak

I was 11 or 12 and used to make fun of my brother while he played.
Then he made me try it. [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Old 03-20-2011, 11:10 AM
Banned

Last edited by dredge; 12-12-2012 at 09:06 PM..
Old 03-20-2011, 11:43 AM
Aviak

I was 13 in 2001 and I liked the fact that the game had what seemed like an infinity of different items and so many character combinations. Before that I I tought was such a large amount of items and classes, as the game I used to play before that was Diablo 1.