Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101  
Old 04-01-2011, 10:36 PM
Solter Solter is offline
Orc


Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 41
Default

Alrighty then.....I installed Titanium. I installed Duxa's installer and ran it. First time I chose the easy option at top (recommended) and it went well. I set up a new shortcut and added the "patchme" to the end. I double clicked the shortcut and logged on. The screen where you choose your character said my spells files were outdated and to visit p1999.org. What I did was run Duxa again and choose the last option "update spells." Logged on again and still have the outdated spells message.
Question:
In the P1999 getting started thread there are several things I need to do and there is no mention of Duxa. In this Duxa thread it is implied that all I have to do is run Duxa and I'm good to go. After having run Duxa should I do all the creating new folders and move the files like it says in p1999 getting started thread or was Duxa supposed to do this? I'm farther along than I thought I'd be and I don't want to screw it up. I'm gonna go to bed and tweak it some more tomorrow....
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 04-01-2011, 11:05 PM
Koota Koota is offline
Fire Giant

Koota's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 792
Default

There was a spell file update that likely hasn't been made in to Duxa. Go to the home page of P99 and click the getting started guide. About halfway down you'll see a spell file .zip.

All you have to do is download that, and drag those files in to your EverQuest directory. Rewriting any files it prompts you for. That's it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogean View Post
You guys want to boast about being such badasses in pve - you aren't. I've watched you guys raid, you suck.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 04-02-2011, 12:49 AM
neem neem is offline
Orc


Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 43
Default

grrr
why after i installed the newest file it started a fresh one? lost my friends list and back to default chat windows[You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 04-02-2011, 01:26 AM
movinvan movinvan is offline
Decaying Skeleton


Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Awesome. Does this make the SoF client work? [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.] I dont have Titanium
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 04-02-2011, 08:19 AM
Solter Solter is offline
Orc


Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 41
Default

So....after doing the spell zip file I'll be good? I don't have to do any of the other stuff in the "Getting Started Guide" because I ran Duxa?
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 04-02-2011, 09:25 AM
Koota Koota is offline
Fire Giant

Koota's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by movinvan [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Awesome. Does this make the SoF client work? [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.] I dont have Titanium

Titanium is the supported client.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogean View Post
You guys want to boast about being such badasses in pve - you aren't. I've watched you guys raid, you suck.
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 04-02-2011, 09:26 AM
Koota Koota is offline
Fire Giant

Koota's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solter [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
So....after doing the spell zip file I'll be good? I don't have to do any of the other stuff in the "Getting Started Guide" because I ran Duxa?

Right.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogean View Post
You guys want to boast about being such badasses in pve - you aren't. I've watched you guys raid, you suck.
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 04-02-2011, 02:22 PM
Chrushev Chrushev is offline
Fire Giant

Chrushev's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocte [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
It reset all my keybinds, too. A+

edit for EXTRA CREDIT!
The icon that gets placed on the desktop cannot be pinned to the Win7 task bar.


Thanks for the lovely time I will now have reinstalling everything to get rid of everything this updater did. You rock.
Strangely enough you are the only one out of hundreds of users with these problems. Clearly it's not a user error.

The program has one purpose, to make things easier, and it does just that for hundreds of players. I am sorry you have unrealistic demands. And stop acting as if you gave your first born in order to use it, and didn't get what you were promised. It's childish.
Last edited by Chrushev; 04-02-2011 at 02:45 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 04-02-2011, 02:24 PM
Chrushev Chrushev is offline
Fire Giant

Chrushev's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solter [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Alrighty then.....I installed Titanium. I installed Duxa's installer and ran it. First time I chose the easy option at top (recommended) and it went well. I set up a new shortcut and added the "patchme" to the end. I double clicked the shortcut and logged on. The screen where you choose your character said my spells files were outdated and to visit p1999.org. What I did was run Duxa again and choose the last option "update spells." Logged on again and still have the outdated spells message.
Question:
In the P1999 getting started thread there are several things I need to do and there is no mention of Duxa. In this Duxa thread it is implied that all I have to do is run Duxa and I'm good to go. After having run Duxa should I do all the creating new folders and move the files like it says in p1999 getting started thread or was Duxa supposed to do this? I'm farther along than I thought I'd be and I don't want to screw it up. I'm gonna go to bed and tweak it some more tomorrow....
You must have an earlier version of the installer. The current version is v5. It has the latest spell file that was added to the server yesterday. So you can just download duxa's v5 and run option (13) on that.

To answer your question, yeah you only need duxa's installer and shouldn't need anything else. Were just in a weird spot right now because with Kunark lots of new spell files are being released.
Last edited by Chrushev; 04-02-2011 at 02:39 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 04-03-2011, 11:36 AM
nbirdy nbirdy is offline
Orc


Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Hi there -

I am using the installer. On one of the steps it says that there is a fix for the multi-core problems and to use the new shortcut on the desktop. However, the installer didn't place a new shortcut on the desktop, in my case. Do you mean just to use the one that the "Getting Started" process has you create?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.