Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2011, 01:17 AM
Veluux Veluux is offline
Large Bat


Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Question Project 1999 under Linux Mint 11 via WINE?

I'm a relatively new Linux user, so I don't quite know all the ins and outs of the OS yet... so I need a little extra help getting this running. After a couple hours of tinkering around I was able to get EQ running under WINE, but only after patching (which I know i'm not supposed to do for P99). I couldn't find a way to change the target for the desktop link or "shortcut" to add the "patchme" to the eqgame.exe path. I successfully installed project 1999 on my windows 7 system, but can't get it working on Linux yet. I'm hoping to get it figured out before P1999Red releases on the 18th. Any help would be AMAZING! I tried following some of the Linux guides already posted, the UBUNTU guide (which would probably be closest to mine) is pretty outdated, was just wondering if anyone knew how to get this running under the newest release of WINE?

My specs are:
OS: Linux Mint 11
CPU: Phenom II x6 1090T
Memory: 16gigs
MB: Sabertooth 990FX
GPU: Nvidia GTX 560

So I know my computer should have no trouble running this at all, I just can't figure out the technical details. I'll be happily annoyed to find out that what I was doing wrong was something small and incredibly simple. Keeping my fingers crossed, lol.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2011, 04:14 PM
Naez 4.20 Naez 4.20 is offline
Banned


Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: s0cal
Posts: 99
Send a message via ICQ to Naez 4.20 Send a message via AIM to Naez 4.20 Send a message via MSN to Naez 4.20 Send a message via Yahoo to Naez 4.20
Default

Make a file on desktop called EQEmu.sh, then put the following script in it

Code:
#!/bin/bash
cd "/path/to/Sony/EQEmu"
taskset -c 0x1 wine eqgame.exe patchme
Right click->properties->Permissions: Read&Write, Allow execution as program.

Give it a pretty icon


You might not need the 'taskset -c 0x1' since your processor is 6 cores, its a "dual core bug" fix and not sure if it affects you or not.
Last edited by Naez 4.20; 11-07-2011 at 04:19 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2011, 01:22 AM
Veluux Veluux is offline
Large Bat


Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naez 4.20 [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Make a file on desktop called EQEmu.sh, then put the following script in it

Code:
#!/bin/bash
cd "/path/to/Sony/EQEmu"
taskset -c 0x1 wine eqgame.exe patchme
Right click->properties->Permissions: Read&Write, Allow execution as program.

Give it a pretty icon


You might not need the 'taskset -c 0x1' since your processor is 6 cores, its a "dual core bug" fix and not sure if it affects you or not.
Hey, thanks for the response!

Did a fresh install of the game, double-checking all the normal things. Created the .sh file and copied in the script. When I click the .sh file I get a dialogue box that says:

"Do you want to run "EQEmu.sh", or display its contents?"
("EQEmu.sh" is an executable text file)

With the options to 1) Run in Terminal 2) Display 3) Cancel 4) Run.

Both Run and Run in Terminal don't do anything at all. Even watching my system monitor there is not even a slight rise in processor activity after choosing either of the options.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2011, 01:25 AM
Veluux Veluux is offline
Large Bat


Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Oh. I also tried both the full script you listed, and then again without the 'taskset -c 0x1'
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2011, 01:47 AM
Naez 4.20 Naez 4.20 is offline
Banned


Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: s0cal
Posts: 99
Send a message via ICQ to Naez 4.20 Send a message via AIM to Naez 4.20 Send a message via MSN to Naez 4.20 Send a message via Yahoo to Naez 4.20
Default

post the output of the Run in Terminal option imo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2011, 02:05 AM
Veluux Veluux is offline
Large Bat


Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Default

It flashes something really fast, but I couldn't read it. I managed to take a screen shot, but the window is always half gone in the screen shot. It looks like it's saying:

Code:
 /home/alex/desktop/EQEmu.sh: line 2: cd: /path/to/Sony/EQEmu: No such file or directory exists
I installed EQ via EQTitanium CD .iso's in WINE btw
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-2011, 02:08 AM
Naez 4.20 Naez 4.20 is offline
Banned


Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: s0cal
Posts: 99
Send a message via ICQ to Naez 4.20 Send a message via AIM to Naez 4.20 Send a message via MSN to Naez 4.20 Send a message via Yahoo to Naez 4.20
Default

haha yea I had a feeling it might be something simple like that.

you gotta edit the "/path/to/EQEmu" to wherever eqgame.exe actually is on the drive!

Sounds like it might be in:

"/home/USERNAME/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Sony/EverQuest"

But you'll have to find it yourself to make sure. BTW you'll have to "view->hidden files/folders" to see the .wine directory or find it with cmd line
Last edited by Naez 4.20; 11-08-2011 at 02:11 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-08-2011, 02:09 AM
Veluux Veluux is offline
Large Bat


Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Default

That's what I was thinking as soon as I saw the partial screen shot. I'm gonna change it now and see what pops out
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-2011, 02:15 AM
Veluux Veluux is offline
Large Bat


Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Its giving me the same error when my script is:

Code:
 #!/bin/bash
cd "/home/alex/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Sony/Everquest"
wine eqgame.exe patchme
Do I need to be linking it directly to the eqgame,exe file like this?:


Code:
#!/bin/bash
cd "/home/alex/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Sony/Everquest eqgame.exe"
wine eqgame.exe patchme
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-08-2011, 02:16 AM
Naez 4.20 Naez 4.20 is offline
Banned


Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: s0cal
Posts: 99
Send a message via ICQ to Naez 4.20 Send a message via AIM to Naez 4.20 Send a message via MSN to Naez 4.20 Send a message via Yahoo to Naez 4.20
Default

the 1st way would be right

try /yadda/EverQuest, because of linux case sensitivity maybe?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.