Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 01-12-2016, 06:35 PM
ir0nfist ir0nfist is offline
Orc

ir0nfist's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frammelpie [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Excellent! It's working again, off of the old 1mgm.sf2 file.

Curious though, the sound file you are using now - is that a drastic difference in sound? Is it a better version of the original in some way?
No big difference. Some things sound better, some worse. I just like the way it sounds in nro since I ran so many alts through there back in the day and that song is stuck in my head permanently.
__________________
The only way out, is through.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 04-09-2016, 03:13 PM
R Flair R Flair is offline
Planar Protector

R Flair's Avatar

Join Date: May 2014
Location: Rustlemania
Posts: 1,068
Default

A few things sound better, but imo, too much sounds worse. It makes some of the most memorable music totally off-key.
__________________
Pro-Rustler since 1974.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06-26-2016, 12:00 PM
Muggens Muggens is offline
Fire Giant


Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 631
Default

Bumping this one too for Good music listening!
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 06-26-2016, 06:26 PM
Muggens Muggens is offline
Fire Giant


Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ir0nfist [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Bassmidi won't work with anything after Win 7 as far as I know because midi mapper has been removed. I linked to VirtualMidiSynth a couple years ago a few pages back. That will work and still does. I just decided to maybe play a little bit and it works. I'm using a different soundfont though than most others as well. You have to disable "Increase Process Priority to REALTIME" in virtualmidisynth options or it won't work from my experience.
VirtualMidiSynth
Soundfont I use: FluidR3_GM.sfArk
Needed to decompress that font: sfark
Makes the music beautiful, that soundfont is awesome.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 12-22-2016, 02:39 AM
h0bbit h0bbit is offline
Decaying Skeleton


Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Default

I'm also running Windows 10. In order to get things working properly I followed the steps in the first post. The only difference is that I had to use a tool called: Vista MIDI Tool

Download and run the Vista MIDI Fix.exeas administrator. Once the program is open, select the BASS MIDI port that you configured in the early steps.

I had to relaunch EQ afterwards. My original issue with the MIDI music was that it would become distorted after a few zone changes. This fixed that issue for me.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 03-09-2017, 10:55 PM
Silvara Silvara is offline
Large Rat


Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 8
Default

Does this actually work h0bbit? I had this working in the past on windows 7 and loved it. But every time I have tried it on windows 10 (bootcamp) it either makes the midi sound all distorted or it completely destroys all midi playback.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 03-28-2017, 08:57 PM
on3moresoul on3moresoul is offline
Decaying Skeleton

on3moresoul's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 1
Default

Is there a quick fix for the combat music not shuffling? This seems to have been an issue since launch.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 05-16-2017, 03:09 AM
Lilcea Lilcea is offline
Decaying Skeleton


Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Default Possible Fix for the MIDI

I noticed a lot of the MIDI music sounded really funky, I remember it sounding a lot better on my AWE 32 back in the day.

I just could not take it anymore so I spent 3 hours sorting it out last night, I made a load of level 1 toons and ran them around a bit to check the music and I think I've pretty much sorted it.

It now sounds exactly like it used to on my AWE 32, I did a live stream of it this morning, the video is here : https://www.twitch.tv/videos/144247757

If there is a certain zone you want me to do please let me know and I'll do a recording of it.

Please let me know what you all think, comments/criticism more than welcome [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 05-25-2017, 01:17 PM
kunoxs kunoxs is offline
Skeleton


Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 18
Default

This is great, how do I do this for myself?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.