Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Blue Community > Blue Server Chat

Closed Thread

Old 07-02-2011, 02:31 PM
Aviak

Default Paladin tanking help

I'm relatively new to the server, just started a few weeks ago and rolled up a Paladin. Gotten to lvl 14 and have been tanking the whole way but struggling to keep mobs on me. I use Flash of Light, but many times the mobs just turn to my other party members. Done a bit of research and I've seen some say it works like root in that it's proximity based agro, however, I've had melee in the group and even if I'm on top of the mob I still have them turning from me to whack on others.

Am I doing something wrong? Is it just a case of people having gear that does so much damage I can't hold agro off them? Feels bad when I'm trying to tank and I can't keep mobs off my group mates. Any suggestions from people who play Paladins here on 1999?

Thanks, and if you group with a low level paladin named Aryan, just know I'm trying :P
Old 07-02-2011, 02:37 PM
Planar Protector

Aggro is kinda fubar here. Flash of light basically keeps the mob from aggroing anyone outside of melee range (like casters) since its blind. The mob will still aggro whoever has highest threat within melee range though. Most likely you're grouping with people who don't use /assist macro's on the tank since you're low level.
Old 07-02-2011, 02:38 PM
Planar Protector

Flash of light simply doesn't work all that well on Project 1999, not like it did on Live. It never has. Aggro in general is rather weird on here. Life is tough until you reach 22 for root and 30 for stun, and you'll never be able to aggro-lock mobs quite as well as the class could on Live. Such oddities are par for the course on a fan-made emulator and to be expected.

Danth
Old 07-02-2011, 02:44 PM
Planar Protector

blind does not work like root.