Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 12-16-2016, 07:43 PM
Large Bat

Default I'm a N00b

Hiii. Thinking about installing this on my Linux machine which I'm sure will be LOTS of fun. Before I sort through the blank screens, no sounds, and random crashes with Wine I was wondering what I need to know before I get started?

I've played everquest but not much at all. It was like 16 years ago and I never got anywhere. If I started playing Project 1999 what do I need to know? What class and race should I be if my EQ IQ is 0? What should I do when I log in?
Old 12-16-2016, 09:25 PM
Large Rat

Honestly, class shouldn't make much of a difference. '99 is slow enough that you'll learn the character as you need. Really just breaks down to what you want to do: do you want to tank, deal damage and possibly off tank, heal/buff or be a Mage? Me personally, I'd probably recommend a 'good' race as a starter so you don't have to worry about traveling for merchants and such as most of the areas you'll be going to for groups are surrounded by good factions. If you decide to start, I'd keep the wiki open in the background so you can check up on guides and such. There's quite a few helpful newbie guides on there that can set you on the right path.
Old 12-16-2016, 09:28 PM
Banned

A rogue is a great first character you can just hang and observe in a group and slowly get acclimated while being an asset even if you dont have that great gear cus u can just stab stab stab
Old 12-16-2016, 10:42 PM
Large Rat