Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Blue Community > Blue Server Chat

Closed Thread

Old 08-20-2013, 08:06 PM
Sarnak

Default What is the point of a bard?

Feels as if a bard only shines in small groups, and even then most groups aren't willing to take on a bard for fear of acquiring a "wasted" spot. I rolled a bard as my main, and have reached high 50s. Currently working on my epic, and doubting the reasons I rolled a bard. They're supposed to be a high utility class. But some play in the raid scene it feels as if I do nothing useful in a raid scenario barring extra mana regen and resists. I rolled a class that is completely useless to solo with and only useful in the rare raid scenario. Will I only be able to fully play my class in the small group scenarios? Keeping in mind this is my first time ever playing EQ, and I feel like I am more than competent at my given utilization. I just feel wasted in anything more than 5-6 people.

In the current game status it seems like bards are completely useless outside mana song, and MR for the rare fight that does something resistable. I know that a bard is indispensable for dragon fights, but the current state of the server is such that getting one is a cold day in hell that TMO or some other zerg guild hasn't poop socked / bothered poop socking the fight.

TL;DR are they useless until Velious barring a few encounters for resistance in the raid scene?
Last edited by Getsmurfed; 08-20-2013 at 08:09 PM..
Old 08-20-2013, 08:07 PM
Sarnak

To PL all the other useful classes
Old 08-20-2013, 08:10 PM
Fire Giant

A bards roll in raids is resists, mana song, and OOS (if it is even in game at this point). That is the class you rolled. A good bard is always welcome in a group with me, as they are the most versitile class in the game. Nothing better than having a speedy bard chain pull in an outdoor zone!
Old 08-20-2013, 08:12 PM
Planar Protector

They are the opposite of completely useless... kind of.