PDA

View Full Version : New guy!

Shilver
06-04-2013, 07:56 PM
Hey people,

I'm totally new to EQ, like fresh out of a womb. But I really want to give this game a chance, I've been looking for an EQ type of game but then I found this emulation project so I decided I'd give this a shot instead of something like Vanguard. But I'm just wondering what should I should expect, perhaps some pointers so some guides around here outside of the one main guide.

I look forward to meeting you guys and get myself established in a solid guild/friendgroup that this game seems so bent around!

(also on a side note, totally not a big deal, but is there some texture replacer or something out there? I can most definitely deal with these graphics, just curious!)

lecompte
06-04-2013, 08:59 PM
Welcome to the server and Everquest! I'm typing on my phone right now so I'm not willing to type all the stuff I normally would. The important graphic elements are , to me, the ui and character models, both of which can be altered to a slightly more modern format. Look around the forums and see if you can figure it out. I'll be home in 4 hours or less and will explain/offer information then. /tell Lecompte

Tecmos Deception
06-04-2013, 09:13 PM
I believe there is a guide on the p1999 wiki to the effect of "Guide For Players Coming From Modern MMOs" that you could check out.

xCry0x
06-04-2013, 09:14 PM
Feel free to send me a tell in game on Halmir and if im not sitting afk staring at a wall ill be happy to explain shit to you =P

Shilver
06-04-2013, 10:57 PM
Sweet :)

Is the experience decrease from being an Iksar a big deal?

lecompte
06-04-2013, 11:00 PM
Depends on what your objective is. Do you want to reach the max level as fast as possible or do you want to have fun? If you are in it for fun, no penalty is too great!

Shilver
06-04-2013, 11:25 PM
Little of both, as long as dungeons are viable throughout the leveling experience I could care less.

SCB
06-05-2013, 12:21 AM