PDA

View Full Version : When did we get so soft?

dancingclown22
09-25-2013, 12:47 PM
I started playing on this server a couple months ago, to bring back the feeling of a game I loved so very much. But I can't help but notice, why is it that people are so afraid of dying on this server and exploring new places? I notice it time and time again, people are afraid to go places because they don't want a mass CR, or they are just too scared, or lazy, not familiar enough, or whatever other excuse. All that seems to have been replaced by the basically skillless leveling that goes on in most open zones, all the way up until level 60. Sure it's easier, more consistent xp. But did we all fall in love with this game because getting to 60 was so easy?

What made this game was the fear that you didn't know what was waiting for you around the corner. That if you died, getting your corpse would suck bad, but it wouldn't stop you from going back. You wanted to go back, you wanted to get better, you wanted to show that bitch froglok caster that rooted you and chain nuked you till death that you weren't afraid of it, and that it would be dead soon enough.

It's sad now, people all crowd to the same, no brains easy mode zones. Unrest, Mistmoore, OT, City of Mist, etc. I got caught in the same trap for awhile when I first started, then it suddenly hit me. None of these zones have made me any better at my class than I was at level 1. In fact, I think I was actually better 13 years ago at this game. So I quit my main, and am ready to reroll with a fresh view on leveling.

I love the community we have here. It's a great thing to be able to still have something like this. So let's do eachother all a favor and help one another actually explore zones that you can't cast SoW in, become better at our classes (even if that means dying more), leveling in more than 5 zones from 1-60, and just do what we should be doing, having FUN.

Ele
09-25-2013, 12:49 PM
I blame Dorito's Locos Tacos.