PDA

View Full Version : New Bard Questions

Machtunes
11-30-2013, 12:01 AM
Hello!

I am new to p1999 and I decided to roll a bard. I wanted to maybe get some general tips and tips on gearing.

When I can I'll be soloing maybe with AoE kiting or playing in a group/trio with a few friends that have been here for a while.

My friend that if he can find some good gear with an 8k budget he would so any advice would be appreciated. I know that I can level naked etc, but since the whole thing is new to me I'd like to be geared a bit while learning how to play the bard the way I want to.

Thanks!

reborn649
11-30-2013, 12:45 AM
Dex so you dont miss notes and Charisma if your gonna be in groups and charming/mezzing =)

cs616
12-03-2013, 11:00 AM
Dex so you dont miss notes and Charisma if your gonna be in groups and charming/mezzing =)

This is bad advice. Dex/cha play a pretty small role in what bards do. They're definitely important secondary stats, but you'll be better served by raw hp, sta, ac and situationally resists (if fighting casters). Cha supposedly helps with lull, but not enough to sacrifice hp, and mez/charm will almost always go full duration even with abysmal cha. Dex for missed notes is nice, but again, not worth sacrificing hp.

indiscriminate_hater
12-04-2013, 06:38 PM
^ bad advice

DEX is very important later on, when one of your main roles will come from weapon procs. tishan's orb, melodious truncheon, trochilic's skean, etc., for lowering resists and interrupting high-level casters.

CHA gear is super cheap and plentiful so don't worry about it. STR and STA are much less important, since bard melee DPS and tanking is dismal at best. 20 STA will only yield 80 hp at level 60 - you can make up for that with a djarn's ring.

indiscriminate_hater
12-04-2013, 06:41 PM
i should have been more specific: DEX is the main stat you should put points into. you can pick and choose which gear and stats you want/need as you keep leveling up

cs616
12-10-2013, 02:26 AM