PDA

View Full Version : Effect of attack rating on DPS

Mirana
02-21-2014, 10:28 AM
(I did a search and could not find anything, so please don't yell at me).

I'm trying to understand the exact implications of strength and attack on my damage (sorry, I'm an engineer, I need transparency).

I was looking at Yaolin's monk/warrior weapon dps charts. He mentions that:

"DMG ratio" = (dmg*2+Bonus)/delay &
"Max Hit" =(((OFFENSE+STR)/100)*DMG)+DMG BONUS

And I'm good with all that, it makes sense. Every 10 strength or 10 "offense" increases your max hit by one point of damage. But what I can't find is how attack rating impacts how often you hit in the higher end of your range. Obviously, more weapon skill and strength = more attack rating which means you will hit for your max (or near your max) more often. I understand it also depends on monster AC. Does anyone have the formula for calculating effective DPS, taking into account attack rating?

Please don't tell me to parse it, I've already looked at several parses. I'm interested in a formula. I like being able to calculate the exact dps increase I will get from buying a hero bracer, because I'm a nerd and it's fun to me.

Thanks.

Buriedpast
02-21-2014, 10:47 AM
STR is not ATK.

Dont confuse them.

Weltmacht
02-21-2014, 10:54 AM
It would seem as if OP is doing an extraordinary job of *not* confusing them. Would you happen to know the answer to his question?

imajester
02-21-2014, 10:59 AM
Wouldn't it be possible to just look at the eqemu source to see how the calculation is done?

Mirana
02-21-2014, 11:05 AM
Wouldn't it be possible to just look at the eqemu source to see how the calculation is done?

Where would I find this? I'm guessing it's a text document in my program files? I'm familiar with basic coding language and stuff but not much of a computer whiz.

imajester
02-21-2014, 11:12 AM
I believe here...

https://code.google.com/p/projecteqemu/source/browse/

I am going to dig around and see if I can find the calc.