PDA

View Full Version : Any good relevant warrior class guides out there? (yet another warrior question)

Thulghor
08-10-2010, 12:51 AM
So I'm trying to not totally suck as a non-twinked ogre warrior n00blet (currently level 18. Yes this is my main). I played a paladin on live, but didn't do much tanking with him. Being a high elf paladin, trying to tank felt like I was a hemophiliac anorexic kid with a bone density disorder that was being picked on by all the jocks. Seemed to always end in a corpse run.

I never even touched a warrior before, nor did any of my friends play warriors to any reasonable length. So this is a brand new thing for me. I like ogres because you're big, strong, dumb, butt ugly, and you meet all kinds of interesting people...then eat them. Tasty people. :D

Here in P99, I've found myself picking up the tanking role a lot in groups, which is fine, but I'm still pretty new at it. My aggro sucks something terribad, but I hear that is just the way it is until you get up there and have twin Yaks or something. So since I'm a poor bastard, it's going to be a while.

My only other tanking experience is as a raid tank in WoW, which isn't really relevant to here (other than situational awareness and very basic concepts).

So I guess my question I'm asking is are there any warrior class guides floating around somewhere that would be relevant to classic EQ? Most of the stuff I find is recent EQ related, which is an entirely different animal.

Some of the things I have questions about are:

1) Stat focuses. I keep hearing I should pump up AC and hitpoints a lot, and add dex once I get proccing weapons. Yet I hear stamina isn't all that useful until later levels when the multipliers change. What is the cap for stats?

2) Slam or Kick? (which is better for DPS and interrupts, or are they the same?)