PDA

View Full Version : a charming necromancer

Afflictus
08-23-2010, 11:40 PM
Greetings,

I am having trouble finding classic info on necro charm and fear mechanics in relation to charisma.

1.For some reason, I remember necros wanted a low charisma for fear to land more reliably and last longer. dunno if that is true.

2.If charming undead, should I try for a high charisma? 100+? 150+? and I think 255 is max charisma, but I highly doubt my leprosy infected caster will hit that.

Thank you for your time,
-Leprosa
-level 19 necromancer

Reiker
08-23-2010, 11:42 PM
Low charisma is a myth, it doesn't improve fear.

I'm not a necromancer expert but I assume high charisma positively affects their charms.

XDrake
08-24-2010, 12:01 AM
Some folks have done amazing things with undead charm... I'm not one of those people. ;p However, much of our gear is anti-CHA. For me CHA is the last skill I care about... I really want INT, Mana, STA, and HP. My HP is my mana... ;p

apollyon arali
08-24-2010, 09:40 AM
Charisma effecting fear and charm is a myth....at least it was when I played a necro thru POP...

My understanding was that fear and undead charm have a timer randomly set uneffected by any player stat.

HippoNipple
08-24-2010, 09:58 AM
Yes all that matters for fear/undead charm is your lvl, and the mobs level/magic resist

Ozz
08-24-2010, 10:20 AM
According to the dev holding a panel on spells/magic at the fan faire I attended many years ago, fear is not affected in any way by cha, and undead charms are very slightly improved by HIGH cha...his response to why necros had so many neg cha items was something like, a lot of the items necros carry would freak people out if they saw a necro carrying them...harvester, hand of the reaper etc. I played a necro as my main on live and from the testing I have done, the cha affecting fear is definately a myth...although I used undead charms a lot, I never tested cha effects.

Taluvill
08-24-2010, 02:34 PM