PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding bard instruments

GodOfYawns
11-15-2014, 11:15 PM
Hi. I'm new to P1999. I played Vanguard for a few months as well as EQ1 on the Ps2 years back. I loved the Bard on Vanguard, which was quite similar to the bard in EQ, only you could macro so that when you sang a song you'd whip out an instrument, and then equip your main hand again. You would only have to put the secondary back in its spot, which was pretty easy. I understand you can macro your songs here so it's only one press of a hotkey. I made a low level bard already and I liked that aspect. My question to experienced bards is, just how important is it to switch instruments (it seems very, considering the modifier), and how hectic is it. I want to play a bard, not some awful, never ending inventory mini-game, which is what it sounds like when I read up on it. Thanks.

GodOfYawns
11-16-2014, 06:56 PM
Ah. Nevermind. I think I found my answer from a reply by Calibix on another thread:

Once you get to 50+, and really the whole way up, in group your going to be dual wielding 90% of the time. The main things your going to be asked to do won't overly be affected by swapping instruments in. Snare and haste can't be modded until you get an epic. Mana song isn't affected by instruments outside of the hp on cantana. Lull, Mez, Charm, and Fear all irrelevant outside of MAYBE the lowered MR on mez. So that really only leaves dots, which are filler in groups if at all, and primarily a solo thing where your trying to maximize your limited damage potential. The only spell I routinely swap for is Angstlitch's Assonance because pulling with a 71% slow is sweet. Other than that, its lute during down times, and drum for travel.

Mirana
11-17-2014, 09:39 AM
In order to truly min/max it would require a "never ending inventory mini game."