PDA

View Full Version : Anecdotes, Experiences, Advice for introducing complete newbs to EQ

ryachart
07-13-2015, 03:06 PM
Hi all,

I'm considering trying to get some of my friends playing on p99. They are guys who grew up on World of Warcraft, and so they have some misconceptions about MMOs that might be super hard to break through.

I'm wondering if anybody has any stories or advice, or has had any success at bringing new people to EverQuest through P99. Things to say, things to do, things to try to show them that this is a game worth investing in and having fun with.

Thanks ahead of time!

- Darrga

azeth
07-13-2015, 03:12 PM
i would suggest downloading the titanium client for them, and setting up their UI for them. Not via step by step instructions, but literally sitting down and building their UI then handing the controls over.

You won't find many people who aren't already EQ lovers that will suffer through the download and HORRENDOUS default UI to actually level up and enjoy the game.

milsorgen
07-13-2015, 03:25 PM
You can just copy your EQ folder via flash drive or what not. Just remember to set up a shortcut so they don't go clicking around all willy nilly.

Riotgirl
07-13-2015, 03:48 PM
Better still, invite them over, put EQ on, and let them watch you play (since they have previously played WOW) so that they can decide if EQ is something that might interest them.

I remember visiting friends (at the time), watching them play for hours, studying the in-game map, then next day, going to the store to buy EQ, set it all up, then start playing.

Oddly enough, even though we all were on the same server, we hardly met in-game. In fact, I stayed on the server, and they both transferred to different servers. Year or two after that, we all moved on in different directions in our lives and ceased all contact with each other.