PDA

View Full Version : Hello, I am new to the server. Give me your two cents of what I should know.

tristantio
11-23-2010, 12:45 PM
Hello all,

I am new to the p99 server. I have played EQ on and off since 99. I would like for everyone to give me your two cents of what you feel a newcomer should know.

For instance, maybe what classes/professions the server needs more of, what are the most used hunting/socialization/trading (I am guessing EC) zones on p99?

So far I have had a great time with my lowbie level 5 wizard, I am amazed how many people swing by Toxxulia forest to toss lowbies buffs (especially when I am normally one of 2 or 3 other Erudites out there).

Seaweedpimp
11-23-2010, 12:50 PM
Welcome!

Play what you like!

But ill tell you now to start a pet class to get your money flowing....

Dont start off as a war/ranger/rog with nothing unless you want a real challenge.

Dr4z3r
11-23-2010, 01:16 PM
There's a lot of Druids/Necromancers/Mages. BUT, a lot of those were started as a farming character to boost an eventual melee main. So it works out pretty evenly.

If you level in WC/EC, you may well be able to vault through the early levels extremely quickly by constantly grabbing buffs from higher-level characters.

If you'd rather do things the old-fashioned way, Crushbone (and to a lesser extent Blackburrow) will be happy to have you.

Estu
11-23-2010, 01:19 PM
Wizards aren't super-popular on the server, but they're not super-needed either; they're kind of underpowered in Classic. I hear they get better in Kunark, though. On the plus side, you will be able to sell ports, though you can probably make better money by farming at level 50 with a competent farming class anyway. Really, though, play what you like. If wizard's your favorite class, go for it. EC is the server's trade zone and you can generally get people to buff you there.

vincin
11-23-2010, 01:28 PM