PDA

View Full Version : Gearing up a noob War

Husk
12-28-2010, 05:47 AM
Hi everyone !

I am new to P1999, and like most of you I used to play EQ back in the days. Thought I started with Kunark.
I am now playing a lvl 10 dwarf warrior and mainly grouping in Crushbone for now. I have two newb questions to the more experienced classic players :
1) Where should I go hunt after Crushbone ?
2) What is the best way to equip my war ? Some nice people gave me a few pieces of bronze armor and the rest is cloth. I have about 30 pp in bank and wondering what I should do, as I understand warriors are very dependant on gear. Should I train blacksmith ? Is it worth it ?

Cheers !
Husk

Rahnza
12-28-2010, 06:23 AM
Try to get a full set of handout bronze and save your plat. The most important gear for a war are weapons that hold aggro. Your first options are obsidian shards (proc at 16 300-400 plat) or gnoll hide lariats (proc at 20, fairly cheap)

Husk
12-28-2010, 09:59 AM
Thanks for the advice :)

/ooc Looking for handout bronze armor !! :)

Chanus
12-28-2010, 10:01 AM
Yeah, I wouldn't advise begging. People tend to not like it when you beg.

Chanus
12-28-2010, 10:03 AM
Smithing can get you Banded Armor, which is decent enough until you're high enough to get your own Bronze through mob drops. Start by sharpening rusty weapons (Sharpening Stone + Rusty Weapon in a Forge), then move on to making Studs (which you can also use to skill up Tailoring with Medium Quality pelts if you like). EQTraders.com has some decent skillup guides... just be aware that not all recipes are available in Classic (like using your tarnished weapons to make pieces of ore and the dairy spoon skillup path).

Alkorin
12-28-2010, 11:49 AM