PDA

View Full Version : Boat Arrival Times

mickmoranis
09-24-2016, 08:52 PM
Ok.. well.

Its one of those things I always wished i did in classic.

Wrote down every time the boat arrived at the dock that I've witnessed.

Im new so this is my first time seeing it, but at 5:50pm the boat arrived at the Butcherblock dock.

in an effort to collate all the arrival times etc, could you pose the time the boat arrives at the dock here if you think about it while you're waiting? I Know you got a lot of time on your hands when you wait for the baot, so you should remember!

Just post the dock and the time the boat arrived and hopefully we can find a pattern and never have to wait again!

Kowalski
09-24-2016, 09:36 PM
Quicker to go through TD or just use firepots.

Crookstinger
09-25-2016, 02:49 AM
This is a wild goose chase, unfortunately. I had hopes of trying to nail down the BB/FP boat route, and left a newbie dwarf on the boat for many trips back and forth to log the times when the boat zoned. The travel times varied to the point that trying to predict the boat arrival times was not feasible beyond more than a day (or maybe less) from any one observed trip.

I am not sure what I did with the data I gathered, but the only useful observation was that it took about 15 minutes to make the crossing.

mickmoranis
09-25-2016, 03:19 AM
I got another time on 8:50 am weird.

Sorn
09-25-2016, 11:41 AM
30 minutes round trip (and a 30 minute wait time if you're trying to catch it), 15 minutes one way, plus extra seconds for zoning and waiting for players to zone in.

Over the course of time the boats will shift their arrivals due to the extra couple of seconds, so arrival times are only consistent for about a day. Timeline-wise, we should actually have two boats for FP/BB and possibly announcements, but boats are a pain in the butt to program (so I hear).