PDA

View Full Version : Bard and AE kiting?

Darkforge
01-26-2011, 01:20 PM
My friend is a bard, he is having problems AE kiting. Can bards do it on this server and if so, does he need lvls or items? Or is it just practice and skill base?

Jester
01-26-2011, 01:43 PM
I'm new to Everquest, but my brother has started playing on this server and he used to play back in the day.

He is AE kiting mobs with a Bard, he started doing it at the level on which he got that Run speed buff and he's been doing it since

Francois
01-26-2011, 01:46 PM
Level 18 helps. It's actually pretty easy once you get the hang of it. Here's a bunch of randomly ordered tips

I like to think of my kite path as a lemon shape.

Never run directly away from your swarm.

Start out with 2 mobs and build from there.

Make sure to Have your 2 AE songs, Selos, and Hymn out.

Start kiting without switching instruments, just keep your drum on.

At level 18 you can pull the majority of EK. You can go from 18-24 in about 6ish hours.

At ~24 you move to SK and pull whichever camp is open + roamers.

That's about it that I can think of. Have your friend message me in game if he needs more help, my name is Franswa.

Darkforge
01-26-2011, 03:38 PM
Thank u i will

john_savage1982
01-26-2011, 03:59 PM
There are several modifications to the technique that people use. I like to use a modified circle method where I group the mobs up tight and then run in circles, hitting the AoE at a strafe-angle to maximize distance from the mob. The hitboxes are so messed up that mobs virtually can't hit you if you are at a diagonal from their facing straight. Try it sometime - run at a strafing diagonal without SoW and most mobs can't hit you.