View Full Version : Forage Macro Help
Regulus77
06-08-2017, 04:56 PM
Please explain how to set up an autoforage macro hotkey. Please explain like you are teaching a 10 year old because I am terrible at computers.
Thank you!
Samoht
06-08-2017, 05:23 PM
First, set forage to one of the buttons 1 through 6 on your abilities tab.
Make a macro that does /doability # where # correlates to the number from the tab.
You will need a /pause to wait for the pickup to resolve. /pause works in tenths of a seconds, so /pause 10 is wait one second. It can be on the same line so it looks like this:
/pause 10, /doability #
Even though the pause is logically listed first, it resolves after the action on the line. So this will doability forage and then pause 1 second.
Finally, you use /autoinventory to drop your foraged items into your inventory. What this does is basically emulate clicking the blank space in the middle of your inventory screen.
Now you have this:
/pause 10, /doability #
/autoinventory
But wait, there's more! You can only forage while standing, so why not build a /stand (while it works) or /sitoff in the macro? And use a pause!
/pause 5, /stand
/pause 5, /doability #
/autoinventory
Not finished yet? There are five lines available on a basic macro, so you can add more stuff to it like sense heading or track, too.
/pause 5, /stand
/pause 5, /doability #forage
/pause 5,/autoinventory
/pause 5, /doability #track
/doability #senseheading
And then if that's not good enough, you can map that macro to a direction key on your keyboard so that every time you turn right or turn left it goes off. The only thing to be mindful of is if you already have something on your cursor, forage will fail to activate, so you can work in an autoinventory at the beginning as well.
/pause 5, /autoinventory
/pause 5, /stand
/pause 5, /doability #forage
/pause 5, /autoinventory
/doability #senseheading
Be mindful that if you're holding something or doing a tradeskill, this will cause you to drop whatever is already on your cursor, so don't hit it unless you already have an open cursor or open inventory space. /autoinventory will force you to drop whatever you're holding if there's not an open space.
Regulus77
06-08-2017, 06:32 PM
Thanks Tom!
Regulus77
06-09-2017, 11:34 AM
This has been very helpful. But how do I map the macro to a direction key so when I turn left it forages?
Samoht
06-09-2017, 12:15 PM
Alt+O > go into the keyboard options
You'll see how there's 2 sets of options for each command, for example you can set autoattack to Q and to G if you wanted to. You can set hotbutton 1 as "1" on your keyboard, and you can also set hotbutton 1 as "directional arrow up" on your keyboard. That way everytime you take a step forward you are also triggering hotbutton one, which happens to have sense heading mapped in there.
Does that make sense?
Grizzler
06-09-2017, 12:21 PM
Alt+O > go into the keyboard options
You'll see how there's 2 sets of options for each command, for example you can set autoattack to Q and to G if you wanted to. You can set hotbutton 1 as "1" on your keyboard, and you can also set hotbutton 1 as "directional arrow up" on your keyboard. That way everytime you take a step forward you are also triggering hotbutton one, which happens to have sense heading mapped in there.
Does that make sense?
This is how I do it. Just took my forage button and put it on my 0 button of my abilities window and then set my left key to also hit the 0 button. Works like a charm and by lvl 30 I've already capped tracking and almost forage doing it this way.
Just have to remember to leave a bag open on screen so you can drop the item into it once it is on your cursor.
Regulus77
06-09-2017, 12:31 PM
Alt-O. Then under "Select Category" what do I choose? It's not working because I know Im doing it wrong.
Grizzler
06-09-2017, 12:44 PM
Alt-O. Then under "Select Category" what do I choose? It's not working because I know Im doing it wrong.
I usually just choose ALL, since that will show you everything. However you can choose to look at movement and hotbars for the hotbar buttons.
Regulus77
06-09-2017, 01:20 PM
In Abilities Tab there are 6 boxes which can be assigned abilities. Counting left to right, down, left to right, my forage ability box is #4.......so
when I Alt-O. Under "Select Category" - then "All" .....which one coincides with my forage ability Key??? Which one do I use to assign a hotkey to my forage ability?
By the way I have:
pause 10, /doability 4
/autoinventory
but I don't know if that is connected to my Forage Ability Key...
And I don't know who's more frustrated between you guys and me, but I would guess it's you. Thanks for helping me.
Crookstinger
06-09-2017, 01:36 PM
If you have the social macro made, then you just need to click and hold that macro button to pick it up and place it in one of your hotbars. Then Alt-O, choose the hotbar (1-4) on which you placed the social macro, then assign the numbered slot on the hotbar where your social macro sits as the same key as your preferred movement key that you want to map to. If you mess up and assign the wrong key, just hit escape to clear that key. One suggestion is that if your keys are already assigned, write down or take a screenshot of what the initial settings are before you tinker with them, in case you need to reset them.
This is one of those things that any of us could show you in about 30 seconds, but it's exponentially more difficult to try and explain via the forum.
Regulus77
06-09-2017, 01:57 PM
I made the macro but a forage hotkey was already there. Do I need to erase that one before I click and hold to put it in my abilities hotbar? If so how do I erase the old one?
Crookstinger
06-09-2017, 02:02 PM
Leave the forage hotkey where it is on your abilities window. The /doability 4 command needs it to be there in order to work.
If there is a forage hotkey already on your hotbar, however, you can move/remove it as you please. You can click and hold and just drop it on the screen somewhere to remove it, or click and hold and put it somewhere else in the hotbar if you want to keep it.
Grizzler
06-09-2017, 02:02 PM
I made the macro but a forage hotkey was already there. Do I need to erase that one before I click and hold to put it in my abilities hotbar? If so how do I erase the old one?
You can just hold left click till it attachs to the cursor and then click some where on your screen and it should drop off.
Samoht
06-09-2017, 02:11 PM
Sounds like OP needs screenshots. Anybody have a walk through with screenshots?
Crookstinger
06-09-2017, 02:18 PM
I did some cursory googling and checked youtube but nothing very relevant came up. I could do screenshots over the weekend but don't have access at the moment.
Regulus77
06-09-2017, 03:10 PM
Leave the forage hotkey where it is on your abilities window. The /doability 4 command needs it to be there in order to work.
If there is a forage hotkey already on your hotbar, however, you can move/remove it as you please. You can click and hold and just drop it on the screen somewhere to remove it, or click and hold and put it somewhere else in the hotbar if you want to keep it.
When I click and hold the old forage hotbar it comes onto my cursor but it doesnt remove from the hotbar. I think I need to erase or delete the old one before I can put the doability one in there. Right?
Samoht
06-09-2017, 03:13 PM
Are you on the hotbar or the abilities bar? The abilities bar is the one that shares the space with the combat and social macros. The hotbar is the numbers 1-10 that correlate to 1-10 on your keyboard. You map those to the direction key, set the ability 1-6 to forage, write your macro pointing to that 1-6, and then drag your macro to the 1-10 on the hotbar.
Crookstinger
06-09-2017, 03:33 PM
http://i.imgur.com/wwr23wf.jpg
Kind of a crappy screenshot, but to further Samoht's point, in the above the hotbar is on the left, and the abilities bar is in the lower right.
Since you are using /doability 4, then Forage needs to be on the abilities bar in position 4 (where Sense Heading is in the above screenshot). Then make your social macro, move it to the hotbar, then hit Alt-O to bind the movement key of your choice to the same hotbar position where you placed the social macro for forage. The hotbar numbering follows the same pattern as can be seen in the abilities bar above.
Regulus77
06-09-2017, 03:41 PM
How do you bring up the hotbar on the left? I dont see one on my screen.
Samoht
06-09-2017, 03:52 PM
Alt + H? Does that work here?
Regulus77
06-09-2017, 06:17 PM
OKAY! The hotbar is up now but still not working.
I made the /pause 10, /doability 4
/autoinventory
I held down and clicked it and it floated on my cursor and I put it on Hotbar 1 - space #2 - or where the blank space to the right of Melee attack on Crookstingers graphic.
I want my turn left arrow to be the key to autoforage when I turn left. I need help with the "Alt O to bind the movement key"
Thanks for the help hope Im getting close.
Regulus77
06-09-2017, 06:30 PM
I DID IT!!!!! THANKS! WORKING GREAT NOW!
Regulus77
06-09-2017, 06:33 PM
"You have become better at Forage! (26)"
Gwynn
06-12-2017, 09:07 AM
First, set forage to one of the buttons 1 through 6 on your abilities tab.
Make a macro that does /doability # where # correlates to the number from the tab.
You will need a /pause to wait for the pickup to resolve. /pause works in tenths of a seconds, so /pause 10 is wait one second. It can be on the same line so it looks like this:
/pause 10, /doability #
Even though the pause is logically listed first, it resolves after the action on the line. So this will doability forage and then pause 1 second.
Finally, you use /autoinventory to drop your foraged items into your inventory. What this does is basically emulate clicking the blank space in the middle of your inventory screen.
Now you have this:
/pause 10, /doability #
/autoinventory
But wait, there's more! You can only forage while standing, so why not build a /stand (while it works) or /sitoff in the macro? And use a pause!
/pause 5, /stand
/pause 5, /doability #
/autoinventory
Not finished yet? There are five lines available on a basic macro, so you can add more stuff to it like sense heading or track, too.
/pause 5, /stand
/pause 5, /doability #forage
/pause 5,/autoinventory
/pause 5, /doability #track
/doability #senseheading
And then if that's not good enough, you can map that macro to a direction key on your keyboard so that every time you turn right or turn left it goes off. The only thing to be mindful of is if you already have something on your cursor, forage will fail to activate, so you can work in an autoinventory at the beginning as well.
/pause 5, /autoinventory
/pause 5, /stand
/pause 5, /doability #forage
/pause 5, /autoinventory
/doability #senseheading
Be mindful that if you're holding something or doing a tradeskill, this will cause you to drop whatever is already on your cursor, so don't hit it unless you already have an open cursor or open inventory space. /autoinventory will force you to drop whatever you're holding if there's not an open space.
If there was a upvote I would give you all of them.
vBulletin® v3.8.11, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.