PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbie! Saying hello!

Tecknologic
05-10-2011, 05:05 AM
Hello everyone! I heard about this server from a few different websites, and decided to check it out. I'm extremely bored with the newer fantasy MMOs, and decided to check this out.

Is there anything a newbie should know before attempting to learn this game the hard way? I would really like to try my hand at tanking in EQ, but healing and support roles sound like a lot of fun as well. My ultimate goal is to do raiding, but I'm in no rush to do so. Might as well enjoy what a lot of people say is the golden era of EQ.

Anyway, just wanted to say Hi!

San
05-10-2011, 05:32 AM
I'm right there with you. Just got it going earlier today. I have always thought it was best to pick a class / race that you like and just dive in when you are just starting out.

Supaskillz
05-10-2011, 06:21 AM
Check out http://wiki.project1999.org the guides tab should be helpful. I know someone who just came here and never played eq just added a guide to explain all the newbie stuff he learned.

kissemisse
05-10-2011, 06:31 AM
Hi!

falkun
05-10-2011, 08:02 AM
Ok, a few things about EQ that newer MMOs "fixed":

In P99 (Classic EQ), supreme classes exist. You want to be the most indestructible tank: Warrior. You want to heal end-game: Cleric. Pallies and SKs can tank all group content fine, but any raid content will be tanked by a warrior. The knights might offtank adds, but never the main boss.
That said, you are better off playing a class you enjoy, rather than min-max. Leveling in EQ is going to be a lot slower than newer MMOs. And depending on your race/class selection, it may be even slower. EQ, unlike recent WoW, is not about the end-game. The game doesn't "begin" at max level, it begins when you get stomped on and die to a beetle or bat at L1.