PDA

View Full Version : In-game digital maps, SERIOUSLY?!?!

Zuranthium
05-14-2011, 06:06 PM
I started playing p1999 very recently and just a moment ago I suddenly found out that the PoP-era maps, where you hit "M" and it tells you the entire layout of the zone and exactly where you are in the zone, are in the game. WTF?!? This is by far one of the worst things ever introduced to the game and completely goes against classic EQ.

I can understand having to look at your spellbook as you meditate (at lower levels) not being in the game, even though it definitely SHOULD be in the game, perhaps it is too difficult to code in after having been removed from the EQ datebase that is being worked with, but seriously...the in-game maps?!?! What gives?!?!

Apologies if that sounds indignant to the designers but I was literally SHOCKED when the in-game map suddenly popped up when I was trying to type without remembering to click the chat box and hit the "M" button. This feature is the exact opposite of what I thought was attempting to be created with this server. I am never going to use the Map feature but knowing that it is in the game and other people are using it is very disheartening.

Nagash
05-14-2011, 06:08 PM
Get out of the newbie zones...

soup
05-14-2011, 06:10 PM
It's only in cities/noob zones.

From what I understand, they are unable to remove them from those places due to some issues with the client or whatever, not sure on the details, but yeah.

stormlord
05-14-2011, 06:16 PM