PDA

View Full Version : New Player/Bard question about armor.

Greenhoe
07-08-2011, 11:06 AM
Hi,

I just started playing EQ again on P1999 yesterday after leaving EQ once Omens came out. I really love playing it again, although I can't figure out how to get armor, I looked up the old newbie armor quests I did when I was originally playing and found some on EQdiva although when I talk to the NPC for example the NPC that should start the quest in South Qeynos and talk to Sollari Bekines although when I talk to her nothing happens.

Is it possible these armor quests were added after the original trilogy? If so how can I work on getting armor at low level (level 4 currently).

Hottbiscuits Dreadmuffin
07-08-2011, 11:11 AM
You've got to make sure that the quests you're looking to existed when Kunark was out. I made the mistake of getting all excited about an armor quest starting in Neriak/Nektulos that wasn't out until Luclin.

After that, I gave up on the armor quests and just focused on leveling, grabbing whatever cloth/plate dropped.

Also, a very nice Dark Elf cleric dropped a full set of bronze armor on me when I was level 12, so there's that too :D There's a lot of people on this server who hand out items to new players, you're bound to run into one.

Not suggesting you wait and beg... but yeah, if I see a new player I usually hand them some platinum or banked gear. It's pretty common for people to do, I think.

falkun
07-08-2011, 12:05 PM
The newbie armor quests didn't exist in the Classic -> Velious era. The only class armor that exists for bards can be found here (http://wiki.project1999.org/index.php/Armor_Sets). Without buying either lambent or Singing Steel, you are basically left with scrounging up cloth/leather/bronze until you can quest lambent starting in the late 20s (with a group). You could also buy a set of banded for dirt cheap in EC.