PDA

View Full Version : Constant Problems Playing on Green


bhughes
10-21-2024, 11:34 PM
Last month or so I've been having constant problems

1) Logon

Logon screen freezes when I try to logon
Login screen gives me an unknown error

Eventually after trying enough login works

2) Server Select

Sometimes server select is blank, back to 1)

Eventually works

3) Select Green trying to get to char select

Green unknown error, back 1)
Green locks up, reboot PC (in full screen) or kill eqgame.exe

4) Select Char
Game locks up reboot PC or kill game
Unknown error back to 1)

Eventually works

In Game
When zoning / porting game locks up, reboot PC or kill game

Sometimes i can zone, maybe 2 out of 5 times.

Is there an IP address that I can /ping to check for packet loss? I'm on xfinity cable atm. Was thinking of trying verizon 5G?

bhughes
10-21-2024, 11:37 PM
no changes to PC hardware

bhughes
10-21-2024, 11:39 PM
i tried on a 2nd pc, same problems, seems like packet loss problem to me

bhughes
10-22-2024, 12:40 AM
I wrote a simple c# console program that i can run while locked up in full screen mode to kill the game, here's the source.

[STAThread]
static void Main()
{
Process [] procs = Process.GetProcesses();

int found = 0;

foreach(Process p in procs)
{
if (p.ProcessName == "eqgame")
{
Console.WriteLine("Killing " + p.ProcessName + " " + p.MainWindowTitle);
p.Kill();
found++;
}
}

if (found == 0)
Console.WriteLine("Everquest not found");
else
Console.WriteLine("Processes killed: " + found.ToString());

Console.ReadKey();
}

vossiewulf
10-22-2024, 01:27 AM
Have you run a packet loss test? (https://packetlosstest.com/)

bhughes
10-22-2024, 02:39 AM
Have you run a packet loss test? (https://packetlosstest.com/)

I'd need an IP address to test, the p99 web site doesn't let you ping it, i think it's dos attack vuln

bhughes
10-24-2024, 01:01 AM
oh yeah, i forgot to mention that I get stuck trying to log in waiting for LD character to clear from the server

bhughes
10-24-2024, 07:41 PM
I ordered 5G internet from Verizon, plugged it in and I was able to zone 6 or 7 times in a row without locking up!

So in conclusion, either my cable modem was bad or Comcast Xfinity was bad. I kind of think it was the later. Last couple of months I would go offline for 5 hours every couple of weeks, reason maintenance, installing new gear. I wouldn't doubt that Comcast's data center equipment is getting old now.

5G is costing me half as much as Xfinity even with the best 5G package I could buy!