PDA

View Full Version : Unofficial Project 1999 Launcher


mixxit
04-06-2010, 03:32 PM
Hey all,

I made a project 1999 launcher and I wondered if you guys could test it for me

http://www.freshinc.co.uk/bolly/setup.exe

It will ask you for your eqgame.exe path and also copy in the correct eqhost.txt file

Ideas for the future:
* Pull down RSS patch notes from vbulletin
* Automatically patch latest spell fixes
* Automatically patch in the Default UI fixes
* Automatically patch in the most favourite UI's

http://www.freshinc.co.uk/bolly/project99.png

Source Code:
http://github.com/mixxit/p99patcher
NB : If you are interested in helping with this project please send me a message on github or on this thread

Uaellaen
04-06-2010, 03:41 PM
could use an error log ... i got an error saying "cant write file, read only?" .. would be nice to know wich file he cant write so i can check it :p

FatMagic
04-06-2010, 03:42 PM
This flipping rocks... I will be implementing this tonite!

Make sure to use the classic P99 Icon with it :)

http://www.project1999.org/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=103&stc=1&d=1270574412

Download the Icons in this thread
http://www.project1999.org/forums/showthread.php?t=5440

ooantipostoo
04-06-2010, 03:43 PM
Hey all,

I made a project 1999 launcher and I wondered if you guys could test it for me

http://www.freshinc.co.uk/bolly/setup.exe

It will ask you for your eqgame.exe path and also copy in the correct eqhost.txt file

Ideas for the future:
* Pull down RSS patch notes from vbulletin
* Automatically patch latest spell fixes
* Automatically patch in the Default UI fixes
* Automatically patch in the most favourite UI's

http://www.freshinc.co.uk/bolly/project99.png

Source Code:
http://www.freshinc.co.uk/bolly/P99Patcher.rar

Only asked for EQ path. It launched correctly but did not update new spell file.

mixxit
04-06-2010, 03:44 PM
could use an error log ... i got an error saying "cant write file, read only?" .. would be nice to know wich file he cant write so i can check it :p

Hey bud, was the error:

'Error writing file, is it read only?'

Then that's happening when the launcher is saving the path of EQGame.exe to the XML file

When you load up the patcher it is supposed to ask for Admin permissions so it is given the rights to write into your c:\program files\project99 folder. Did you click no? :-)

If you want to see what it's doing take a look at the SaveXML() function in the source code!

President
04-06-2010, 03:45 PM
Only asked for EQ path. It launched correctly but did not update new spell file.


Ideas for the future:
* Pull down RSS patch notes from vbulletin
* Automatically patch latest spell fixes
* Automatically patch in the Default UI fixes
* Automatically patch in the most favourite UI's

=)

mixxit
04-06-2010, 03:46 PM
Only asked for EQ path. It launched correctly but did not update new spell file.

It does not update spell files - i listed that as a future feature to automatically patch the ones from the Getting started guide (and other stuff!).

I could probably just bundle the spell files with the installer if that's what you'd all prefer but i think a patcher would be a more elegant solution!

Let me know what to do :-)

Zordana
04-06-2010, 03:47 PM
private void LoadSettings() needs some try & catch
btnPlay_Click could need a check if the file (still) exists
same with btnOptions_Click

thats all i saw flyin over the source

FatMagic
04-06-2010, 03:48 PM
I could probably just bundle the spell files with the installer if that's what you'd all prefer but i think a patcher would be a more elegant solution!

Auto-patcher for the spell files please :)

Uaellaen
04-06-2010, 03:48 PM
When you load up the patcher it is supposed to ask for Admin permissions so it is given the rights to write into your c:\program files\project99 folder. Did you click no? :-)


i clicked yes when it asked me for admin rights ;) <== developer my self :p i cant see a xml file in the folder, so i guess thats it, cant write the config file ...


i wont try it again now thou, since sometimes the admin message locks up the running EQ, so i be testing it more later =)

Zordana
04-06-2010, 03:48 PM
It does not update spell files - i listed that as a future feature to automatically patch the ones from the Getting started guide (and other stuff!).

I could probably just bundle the spell files with the installer if that's what you'd all prefer but i think a patcher would be a more elegant solution!

Let me know what to do :-)

"IDEAS FOR THE FUTURE" ;)

ooantipostoo
04-06-2010, 03:48 PM
It does not update spell files - i listed that as a future feature to automatically patch the ones from the Getting started guide (and other stuff!).

I could probably just bundle the spell files with the installer if that's what you'd all prefer but i think a patcher would be a more elegant solution!

Let me know what to do :-)

Ahh I was under the impression if you were behind on a spell patch this launcher would know and automatically update you to the current one.

mixxit
04-06-2010, 03:49 PM
private void LoadSettings() needs some try & catch
btnPlay_Click could need a check if the file (still) exists
same with btnOptions_Click

thats all i saw flyin over the source

Thanks! I'll get those added!

Uaellaen
04-06-2010, 03:50 PM
and oh yeah autopatcher for the spell files please!

Zordana
04-06-2010, 03:50 PM
Thanks! I'll get those added!

oh yeah savexml and delxml also needs some error catching

mixxit
04-06-2010, 03:51 PM
Ahh I was under the impression if you were behind on a spell patch this launcher would know and automatically update you to the current one.

This is certainly something to add as well as pull in the classic and velious UI and update them as people add more features to them. I just need to think about people's own private changes and if i should be overwriting their UI's.

Perhaps it could be an optional tickbox somewhere..!

mixxit
04-06-2010, 03:51 PM
oh yeah savexml and delxml also needs some error catching

Roger - maybe i should add this to github?

Uaellaen
04-06-2010, 03:52 PM
do it like the profit UI updater for EQ2 ... you can exclude files from beeing patched in it ... i thought it was a good idea

ooantipostoo
04-06-2010, 03:52 PM
This is certainly something to add as well as pull in the classic and velious UI and update them as people add more features to them. I just need to think about people's own private changes and if i should be overwriting their UI's.

Perhaps it could be an optional tickbox somewhere..!

I wouldnt worry about UI's and such, Just keep it simple and have a launcher that keeps up with the patching/spell files

mixxit
04-06-2010, 04:21 PM
Added to github if anyone wants to help out
http://github.com/mixxit/p99patcher

Lonedrahon25
04-06-2010, 05:02 PM
This is insanly awesome, keep it up!

mixxit
04-06-2010, 09:32 PM
Alright i added in the spell file & ui file patcher - also set it to purge the new music and eqg files etc like in the getting started guide.

All it's missing now is some other bug fixes mentioned earlier in this thread and a patcher for the patcher itself! Then we can bundle in some UIs :-)

The latest version is at the same url as the first post in this thread, just grab the new one and install over the top!

Zordana
04-14-2010, 02:52 PM
i also created a launcher, here is a screenshot of what ive done yet.
will provide more info on a later point


http://moestaverne.com/uploadarea/download.php?id=360

xnolanx
04-14-2010, 04:00 PM
Mad props, man!

Wenai Edit: Removed unnecessary comment.

Nolan Edit: I can't remember what I said, but I'm sorry.

JayFiveAlive
04-14-2010, 05:02 PM
This is great - keep up the good work fellas.

Shouldn't this be in the Technical section though? :P

Hasbinbad
04-14-2010, 05:15 PM
This is NOT a flame, but a serious question (heh, great way to start a post, amirite?).
Please speak to me as if I was seven, and know nothing about how computer programs work (overexplain).

Why should I not be scared that a program like this could contain a keylogger?

Zordana
04-14-2010, 05:38 PM
This is NOT a flame, but a serious question (heh, great way to start a post, amirite?).
Please speak to me as if I was seven, and know nothing about how computer programs work (overexplain).

Why should I not be scared that a program like this could contain a keylogger?

well enough people here can find out, if it has anything like that, but its up to you to use it of course =)

Tudana
04-14-2010, 06:19 PM
I got this patcher set up, clicked on it to let it run and I get a error msg. I geta small black box up in the left top corner, then a bigger black box, not fully on my screen, then this error.
"eqgame.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

my resolution is set to 1360x768