PDA

View Full Version : Old EQ, New p99 Player Asking For Help...

Destan
03-22-2012, 12:33 PM
Hey Everyone..I'm in a bit of a dilemma and I would appreciate if the veteran project 1999 players could give me some assistance.

I'm looking to join the population of this amazing server, and would like to make it interesting by playing one of the only two classes I have no late-game experience with on live: Rogue and Bard. I have very little experience with either, so I'm relying on those of you playing now in the classic era that can give me your honest input.

My question to you is which should I choose given the following criteria:

*I am aware that back in the day it was much easier to level a farm toon first (necro, mage, druid, etc) and twink your melee. However, I am generally a one-toon-at-a-time kinda guy and don't mind the added challenge of starting fresh. Difficulty isn't important, I will get to max level either way.

*My sense of fun is a little different than you might usually find. What the class itself does is generally not as important to me as flexibility, usefulness, and need. I am turned off by popular classes that are over-crowded (like my necro back in classic-velious) or those that are considered a sub-par addition to a group (like rangers pre-AAs). I will enjoy my character more if I am useful, needed, and there is a future in that class so that I can stay relevant in group/raid situations.

*I don't mind mastering the subtle mechanics of a class.

So given what I've mentioned above, if you had to pick now based on need, usefulness, and future on this server's timeline which to pick, what would you take as your main? Rogue or Bard, help me choose please!

Kika Maslyaka
03-22-2012, 01:04 PM
if you want lots of abilities to play with - Bard

Rogues, while powerful group DPS are very very boring (IMO) - all you do is hit backstab button over and over and over and over and over and over... you get the idea ;)

Nanolian
03-22-2012, 01:14 PM