PDA

View Full Version : Titanium and night darkness

finalgrunt
05-04-2010, 06:14 AM
Hello everybody!

I started playing on the p1999 server and it's awesome. However I remember that the night was much darker. Is it because the client changed it?

Is there a way to change that back to a more realistic (pitch dark) night, where ultravision makes a difference?

Correct me if I said wrong stuff here ^^

Thankies

JaVeDK
05-04-2010, 06:20 AM
You can scale down gamma in options (alt+o)

finalgrunt
05-04-2010, 06:28 AM
Like I thought.

This gamma thing was changed for all zones right? Don't want to enter an unaffected place which would be completly dark then ^^

FatMagic
05-04-2010, 07:03 AM
I think there was definitely a gamma change, or just a general change to the way they did night darkness back in the day. I clearly remember humans being the WORST race to play in '99 because you couldn't see squat. I died too many times out in EC because of this :)

km2783
05-04-2010, 10:31 AM
fwiw, the gamma slider on my client does absolutely nothing.

Bumamgar
05-04-2010, 10:46 AM
Are you running under WinEQ2 and have 'lock gamma' turned on? It essentially disables the gamma slider in EQ.

However, I recommend downloading Gamma Panel (http://majorgeeks.com/Gamma_Panel_d2796.html) and using it to setup gamma profiles for the various games you play. You can then switch between them on the fly using hotkeys or the taskbar menu. It provides much more control over your gamma settings than the EQ slider.

km2783
05-04-2010, 11:08 AM
Not using WinEQ2.

But since back in the day I turned the gamma up to where I could see anyway, I'm okay with this :D

Tunnels are still blacker than the blackest black, though. Qeynos, Surefall Glade, etc.

MrB
05-04-2010, 11:27 AM
I'm sure it was dark early on in the game.