PDA

View Full Version : The name "Ramm"

Ramm
06-07-2010, 01:22 AM
Hello!

Some background:

I started playing EQ in the summer of 2000. It was my first online game of any kind.

Knowing nothing whatsoever about lag and Linkdeath and latency, I chose to go on the most highly populated server, thinking this would be the best way to garner fame and fortune. That server, at that time, was Mithaniel Marr.

Knowing nothing (again) I chose a paladin, and promptly wasted 5 points in Charisma, assuming that I'd be gaining skill ups through battle in stuff like STR and STA anyway.

I wanted the name Ram. Because EQ didn't allow 3 letter names, I got stuck with the name Ramm.

On Mithaniel Marr, after some years of play, Ramm eventually gained some of that fame and fortune he always wanted. He was an officer in one of the server's top guilds before the Saryrn merger (Altered Vision). He became one of "those people" on the server whom everyone had heard of or seen or hung out with. His reputation was generally spotless, if I may say, and he played a LOT.

I wasted 6 years of my youth, over 400 days played, over 700 AA's and 80 levels, on Ramm--Ramm Knight (a surname I once had to fight for by posting on several of the game's most popular forums after an idiot Guide decided to take away the surname, even after I'd had it for about 2 years by that point... I eventually did get it back, with the Guide's apologies). I quit EQ when my guild broke up, after we had lost just too many people... I think it was in 2005.

A part of me wishes my time on EQ had never happened... another part of me will forever and always be Ramm.

So, when my old guildies asked me to come try out Project1999, well, honestly, I jumped at the chance. I've always missed oldschool EQ and I highly doubt any new MMO will ever be as good as EQ was in its prime.

BUT........ the catch...... SOMEONE on the Project1999 server already has the name Ramm :(