Project 1999

Project 1999 (/forums/index.php)
-   Blue Server Chat (/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   "Camp holding" policy clarification (/forums/showthread.php?t=325872)

hotkarlmarxbros 05-19-2019 03:12 AM

"Camp holding" policy clarification
 
Hi guys,

Was holding the AC camp and went LD. The person waiting for the next spot was present and mentioned that LD means that you forfeit the camp, but she wasn't a jerk and would let me retain it. This was between spawns, my disconnect happened after the previous kill, and I reconnected prior to the next pop (though it was a bit longer than crash->login as it required a restart to get back in).

In looking for a ruling, I found this:

Quote:

If you die, go LD or leave the zone you can lose the camp if another player calls you on it. SF, AC, Lucan are no exceptions.
But the remainder of the post goes on to elaborate that discretion is key, and any "lawyerquest" or similar outside of the PNP would be met with less than supportive GM decisions. Similarly, there is this thread that states:

Quote:

In general, if the placeholder or placeholders for a spawn are being killed, that 'camp' can be considered held by the player doing the killing so long as they are keeping the placeholders (or the room if there are no placeholders) cleared, within the same zone, do not die or log off.
This uses the phrase 'log off,' that sounds a bit more deliberate than 'ld,' but again, I'm not trying to put words/intentions in the developers mouths.

So how is it? Any 'ld' at a camp means forfeit? Opinions? Harder/faster rules from admins that can weigh in on the situation?

Maldarian 05-19-2019 03:34 AM

They were kind, you lost the camp when you went LD

Bardp1999 05-19-2019 04:21 AM

As long as you were back before the next spawn the camp was yours. You have to kill a PH to claim a camp. If you are keeping the PHers down you are fine. If a PH spawns and some else kills it.....you're fucked out of the camp

Jimjam 05-19-2019 05:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bardp1999 (Post 2912215)
You have to kill a PH to claim a camp.

Hadden thread taught us this is untrue. Whoever gets there first can claim the camp between spawns if no one is holding it.

DMN 05-19-2019 05:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hotkarlmarxbros (Post 2912203)
Hi guys,


In looking for a ruling, I found this:



But the remainder of the post goes on to elaborate that discretion is key, and any "lawyerquest" or similar outside of the PNP would be met with less than supportive GM decisions. Similarly, there is this thread that states:


So how is it? Any 'ld' at a camp means forfeit? Opinions? Harder/faster rules from admins that can weigh in on the situation?


Technically, LD means you could lose your camp if you come back and someone else has claimed it. Yep. While it does talk about other things, it's quite specific about that. Most of the rest being talked about is when you should engage a mob that's being camped yet the camper isn't killing the mob in a timely manner. Completely different matter.

Maliant 05-19-2019 05:41 AM

If you leave the zone (die / PC crash etc.) for any reason you no longer have a claim to the camp.

Worry 05-19-2019 08:12 AM

That person was really cool, you lost camp when you went LD.

Stroboo 05-19-2019 08:33 AM

As everyone else said, you lose the camp but not many people would claim any camp because of an LD with quickish return...we play in a small sandbox that isn’t going anywhere, no reason to be rude

Troxx 05-19-2019 09:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Maldarian (Post 2912212)
They were kind, you lost the camp when you went LD

This. It was very nice of them.

If you leave the zone for any reason you technically lose the camp.

fastboy21 05-19-2019 09:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bardp1999 (Post 2912215)
As long as you were back before the next spawn the camp was yours. You have to kill a PH to claim a camp. If you are keeping the PHers down you are fine. If a PH spawns and some else kills it.....you're fucked out of the camp

This is the nice thing to do...but I don't think you are correct.

Killing the PH isn't the only requirement to "hold" a camp. You also have to be in the zone, you have to be reasonably nearby.

If I'm camping the AC and decide to port and gate back between kills I will rightfully lose the camp...even if I make it back before the next pop. If I decide to camp out to do a fast transfer on another char between kills its the same thing.

Ofc, if you see someone go LD the nice thing to do is to give them the camp back if they make it back pretty quickly.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.