Project 1999

Project 1999 (/forums/index.php)
-   Priests (/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=64)
-   -   Question about cleric races / cultural armor (/forums/showthread.php?t=313681)

horaxe 12-27-2018 11:41 PM

Question about cleric races / cultural armor

Hello All!

I am brand new to p99 and I haven't played EQ since back around PoP and never got max level (hoping to change that now!) But I was wanting to make a cleric to just heal in groups and I am just stuck on what race to pick. I like the look of Dark Elf, High Elf and Dwarf but I can't decide.

Everything I read says that dwarf has the best cultural armor and I am just wondering why/how, just looking at Weight/Str/Wisdom on the cultural armor for all 3 races I came up with

Dwarf - Weight (69.6) STR (59) Diff (10.6) WIS (41)

High Elf - Weight (33.6) STR (27) Diff (5.6) WIS (54)

Dark Elf - Weight (33.6) STR (37) Diff (-3.4) WIS (40)

It seems like to me they are all really good?

And it seems like having a race with low strength wouldn't be a huge deal with this armor since it really doesn't add that much net weight after the str you get from the armor itself. (I know low level plate won't have str but idk how much of a concern that really is)

I am sure there is a lot that I am missing/don't know but if someone could point me in the right direction that would be much appreciated! =)

Varren 12-29-2018 12:36 AM

I vote dark elf for the look, the potential raid-saving hide and the clicky snare neck. Your decision should be entirely aesthetic though, in my opinion.

horaxe 12-29-2018 12:39 AM

Do you have any experience on if weight is as big of a deal as it seems? I don't have any plans on raiding or anything so I don't know if i'll be able to get the gear I need to not be weighed down all the time. That is one thing im worried about!

Varren 12-30-2018 02:03 AM

There might be times levelling up that you are annoyed by it, but that’s just cause you’re an elf. Your powers of mind will prevail