Project 1999

Project 1999 (/forums/index.php)
-   Starting Zone (/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=71)
-   -   Experienced player duo with total newb. Enc/Clr? (/forums/showthread.php?t=405807)

Kurtanius21 07-21-2022 09:12 AM

Experienced player duo with total newb. Enc/Clr?

I’ve been playing EQ for years. I’ve never made it to 60, but I have 2 50+ characters. I’ve introduced a friend of mine to EQ. We started a magician/Enchanter duo and we did miserably. Simply put, he is not a gamer. His ability to quickly assess a situation and manage Agro just isn’t there. Many times he would nuke too hard and get agro and we wiped. Other times I would try to mezz adds, only to wipe because he would attack both. We got frustrated and stopped (he stopped) playing the game temporarily.

We are going to try again, but this time I will remain playing the enchanter and he will be a cleric. A cleric is as simple as it gets right? Heal when health bars get low and buff occasionally basically. I have 57 cleric, so I have an understanding of it. I have never played an enchanter past level 14 though.

When does the enchanter/cleric duo become a viable dungeon crawling duo? Is it only useful at higher levels? We are down to group, but don’t want to sit around twiddling our thumbs because no PUGs are available. What other duo could we play that would allow him to play the most basic simplistic roles possible in EQ?

eqravenprince 07-21-2022 10:32 AM

Rogue is the simplest class to play. Get behind mob and backstab. You be a class that can keep aggro and pull mobs Paladin or Shaman perhaps.

Treefall 07-21-2022 10:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kurtanius21 (Post 3483308)