Project 1999

Project 1999 (/forums/index.php)
-   Technical Discussion (/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   CPUAffinity? (/forums/showthread.php?t=381658)

Icetech 04-02-2021 01:10 PM

CPUAffinity?
 
So i have a friend that gets lag playing on 99, if he manually sets the cpuaffinity to all it runs perfect.. there used to be a setting in eqclient.ini which was "CpuAffinity=-1" that would force EQ to work on all cores without having to do it every time you start the game..

does that not work on 99 or do i have the syntax wrong?

K-EAVKR 04-02-2021 02:30 PM

I don't know if that works on P1999. But also the syntax slightly wrong. You need:

Code:

CpuAffinity0=-1
Each core needs to be specified starting with 0

Icetech 04-02-2021 02:33 PM

bah.. thanks

K-EAVKR 04-02-2021 02:58 PM

Let us know if it helped at all. I have a multicore processor as well, but I am not currently experiencing any sort of lag.

Icetech 04-02-2021 03:09 PM

My buddy said that didn't work but he added "-affinity 1 -high" to the shortcut and that worked....

His system is crazy laggy on 1 core.. weird..

K-EAVKR 04-02-2021 03:58 PM

I was mistaken on the functionality of CpuAffinity0=-1. The first number (there needs to be a number) describes the client instance. So in this case it would be instance #1 of eqgame.exe.

The number after the equal sign denotes the core to use. A negative one (-1) tells the client go ahead and manage what core to use on its own. Specifying 0-x tells the client to use that core only.

Example:
CpuAffinity0=-1 [Instance 1 of eqgame.exe and let it decide how to handle what core to use]
CpuAffinity0=2 [Instance 1 of eqgame.exe and use core #3]

I've tried this and it doesn't seem to make a difference as you have described. But I also had no issues to begin with.

Sorry if this lead to any confusion. Thinking about it more now I'm pretty sure the modern eq client has multicore support or at least knows how to deal with it or else more people would be having performance issues all over. The affinity thing seems like a bandaid for people with very specific issues or multiple clients (the latter obviously doesn't apply to p99)

Icetech 04-02-2021 04:07 PM

naw, no biggy... he seems to be running smooth now so not gonna mention it :) thanks for the help!

Detoxx 04-02-2021 05:23 PM

C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /c start "eq" /affinity 1

This is the only way Ive been able to make it run on one affinity and also not have to set it every time you load the game.

Put this before the quotations in your Target when you right click your shortcut and go to properties.

This also, coincidentally, fixed my graphic freeze issue.

Icetech 04-02-2021 07:31 PM

thanks

digush 08-17-2022 07:38 PM

duuuuuuuuuude
 


this is the batch file i use to launch EQ
it's slightly modified a bit, but this works if you have a 4-core CPU with hyperthreading thus having 8-threads.
so if you have a 4-core CPU without hyperthreading (4 threads) you will have to edit the batch file to handle precisely 4 threads.
if you have an 8-core CPU with hyperthreading (16 threads) you will have to edit the batch file to handle precisely 16 threads. you get the jist.


For this particular batch file to work:
1)inside your Environment Variable in the Windows Operating System
you have to set(or create) a variable:
-Variable_Name to "eqgame"
-Variable_Value to "C:\YOUR_EQ_DIRECTORY\eqgame.exe"

..if this variable(eqgame) does not exist, create it(it gets created when you install EQ)
.....One example: it might not exist if you moved a backed-up EQ directory to a fresh windows install

2)Also need to change the following line in the batch file accordingly:
- SET _AppFolder=C:\YOUR_EQ_DIRECTORY (this is EverQuest's Home)











<<START Launch_Titanium_Affinity.BAT>>

@@ECHO OFF

REM This only works up to Minimum of 1 and Maximum of 8 Cores(Threads?)
REM It picks a random CPU core between 1 and the Maximum and runs Everquest on that CPU core

setlocal
SET _AppFolder=C:\YOUR_EQ_DIRECTORY
SET _AppName=EVERQUEST
SET _AppEXE=eqgame.exe
SET _AppParams=patchme
SET /a _MaxCPU=8
SET /a _rand=%RANDOM%*%_MaxCPU%/32768+1
SET _affinity=0x01
IF %_rand% EQU 2 SET _affinity=0x02
IF %_rand% EQU 3 SET _affinity=0x04
IF %_rand% EQU 4 SET _affinity=0x08
IF %_rand% EQU 5 SET _affinity=0x10
IF %_rand% EQU 6 SET _affinity=0x20
IF %_rand% EQU 7 SET _affinity=0x40
IF %_rand% EQU 8 SET _affinity=0x80



start /affinity %_affinity% eqgame patchme
endlocal


<<END Launch_Titanium_Affinity.BAT>>



credits:

https://wiki.project1999.com/Players:Technical/Affinity
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgFuYs-okjY









All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.