Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Class Discussions > Casters

Closed Thread

Old 10-18-2016, 05:27 AM
Decaying Skeleton

Default Reclaim Energy in P99

I may be new to Project 1999, but I have many years of experience in regular EQ. I am trying to figure out how Reclaim Energy works, as it doesn't seem to work like it did pre-Luclin.

In the original EQ, reclaim energy would yield 1 mana per 10 current hit points left of the pet summoned. A fresh fire pet at level 12 would yield approximately 15-20 mana, even though it cost 120 mana to summon in the first place (much suckage - Reclaim went to the back of the book for me). A fresh earth pet at 49 would reclaim more mana than it cost to summon, because of its large hit point pool.

Post-Luclin, changes were made to the spell such that pet hit points were no longer relevant to reclaim. If you did not have the Improved Reclaim AA, then you would reclaim back 75% of the mana cost to summon the pet, regardless of its current hit points (this can be useful for reclaim chaining pets). If you had Improved reclaim trained, then that percentage would rise to 90%. This change nerfed "pet canni" (summoning a fresh 49 earth pet, then reclaiming him for 100 to 200 extra mana each time, making for some killer mana regen, at the expense of malachite, unless you had the AA that prevented a pet summon from consuming it).

Now onto Project 1999. Just to experiment a little, I summoned a level 12 fire pet, and immediately reclaimed him, just to see if I could summon a higher level pet. Each resummon/reclaim cycle consumed less than 20 mana on balance, allowing me to pick and choose a good pet to work with, at a cost of malachite, of course. This means that Reclaim Energy is giving me back a lot more than 1 mana per 10 hit points of the pet.