Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Off Topic

Closed Thread

Old 04-20-2019, 11:02 PM
¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Default Audio Mixing

Maybe someone here can help me select the correct product(s) to accomplish this, as I'm not an Audio expert.

Typical PC Setup with a headset using a USB Connection to 3.5 (I don't use onboard audio because it sounds like shit).

What I want to do is have a TV with a Roku, that I can hear through my Headset along with my PC Audio. To accomplish this, I need something that can take the SPDIF Out of the Roku, and the 3.5 from the USB Portion of my Headset, merge them and output into the 3.5 to my Headset.

I'm not on a budget, I don't want a small shitty $10 converter box, I don't mind paying for something that will work with 0 lag and interference. I start reading about things like electromagnetic interference, ground loops, and etc and I'm like da fuq. Also from what I read, SPDIF from the Roku comes in at 100% volume and can't be changed on the Roku side, so I need something with volume control.

So I don't know if this would need a decent audio mixer? What's the best mixer, what cables and adapters would I need.. ground loop isolator.. etc.

Thanks Pals

Project 1999 Setup Guide
Old 04-24-2019, 07:51 PM
Planar Protector

Do you have a Roku with a remote that has a mini phono (headphone) jack? If so you can just use a mini phono Y cable ($5 from Amazon ... or Radio Shack if they still exist near you) to combine the two ... perhaps with a long mini phono extension cord or wireless mini phono adapter.

Loramin Frostseer, Oracle of the Tribunal <Anonymous> and Fan of the "Where To Go For XP/For Treasure?" Guides
Anyone can improve the wiki! If you are new to the Blue server, you can improve the wiki to earn a "welcome package" of up to 2k+ platinum! Message me for details.
Old 04-25-2019, 05:25 PM
Fire Giant