Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2019, 08:29 AM
Lumah Lumah is offline
Large Rat


Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 5
Default Did I stutter? Help with stuttering in Win 10/2019

It seems to be a common issue, with multiple threads advocating all kinds of witchcraft that still doesn't seem to help here. Sorry for starting a new one, but this seems to make more sense than bumping a few old threads. Some things I've tried...
  • "eqgame.exe" runs in Compatibility mode XP Service Pack 3
  • Disable shadows
  • WinEQ 2.0 (maybe makes it less pronounced but it's clearly still there)
  • FPS set to 59 and 60
  • Maybe that's it?

Also kind of weird to me, but my LaunchTitanium.bat is only "C:\EverQuest\Launch Titanium.bat" and eqgame.exe seems to launch without any additional comments/flags.

I still have the stuttering, which seems like it's a hard drive/loading issue. But I saw another post that says this happens when somebody zones in - and since I'm playing primarily lowbie zones right now that would make the most sense. I also vaguely remember that on live. Can anybody confirm that and put an end to this "issue"?
Last edited by Lumah; 05-17-2019 at 08:58 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2019, 03:49 AM
isiah isiah is offline
Fire Giant


Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 610
Default

bump

Has anyone found any effective solutions to this yet?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2019, 09:15 PM
Lumah Lumah is offline
Large Rat


Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 5
Default

In the end it seems to be related to mouselook. The server can’t keep up with mouselook so it “corrects” at intervals, which causes the “lag” I was describing.

So in my case, either keyboard turn exclusively or regularly give some keyboard turn input while mouse-running to minimize the effect.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2019, 12:05 AM
YendorLootmonkey YendorLootmonkey is offline
Planar Protector

YendorLootmonkey's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surefall Glade
Posts: 1,737
Default

What Nvidia drivers are you using? Try reverting to 391.xx or earlier. I started have stutter problems, rolled back, haven't had issues since.
__________________
Another witty, informative, and/or retarded post by:

"You know you done fucked up when Yendor gives you raid commentary." - Tiggles
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-06-2019, 12:32 AM
elwing elwing is offline
Fire Giant


Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 953
Default

Also are your logs tiny? If not try to clean them
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-06-2019, 04:54 AM
AlgebraTheBard AlgebraTheBard is offline
Large Rat


Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Default

I am sometimes playing EQ with my old PC with XP sp3, with a AMD cpu.
1. able to play in full size or lite size, of cause lite size make it smoother.
2. with or without shadows on
3. no WinEQ
4. FPS is 100 (default value)
5. spell pixels set to minimimum for better performance
6. grass off surely increase performance

for better performance, kill the components in following orders:
spell pixels > sky > grass > show corpses

I am not sure if the above could also solve your problem well.
just my 2cp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lumah [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
It seems to be a common issue, with multiple threads advocating all kinds of witchcraft that still doesn't seem to help here. Sorry for starting a new one, but this seems to make more sense than bumping a few old threads. Some things I've tried...
  • "eqgame.exe" runs in Compatibility mode XP Service Pack 3
  • Disable shadows
  • WinEQ 2.0 (maybe makes it less pronounced but it's clearly still there)
  • FPS set to 59 and 60
  • Maybe that's it?

Also kind of weird to me, but my LaunchTitanium.bat is only "C:\EverQuest\Launch Titanium.bat" and eqgame.exe seems to launch without any additional comments/flags.

I still have the stuttering, which seems like it's a hard drive/loading issue. But I saw another post that says this happens when somebody zones in - and since I'm playing primarily lowbie zones right now that would make the most sense. I also vaguely remember that on live. Can anybody confirm that and put an end to this "issue"?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-06-2019, 10:44 PM
Zheddar Zheddar is offline
Scrawny Gnoll


Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Making sure EQ was on my solid state drive fixed this for me. When it's on any of my old spinning hard drives I get the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-23-2019, 04:04 PM
Techungry Techungry is offline
Decaying Skeleton


Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Run it from a RAM drive. Tools out there to mount a folder. Solved it for me on a standard HDD.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-30-2019, 04:08 AM
Screapy Screapy is offline
Aviak


Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 93
Default

I had giant lag spikes when people zoned into a zone - ppl logging in for BPs etc.
Also suffered from instagibs during swarm kiting due to mini lags and mouseturn causing me to 180 into my train

So then I bought a SSD 1 or 2 weeks ago and run EQ (also with WinEQ) from there. Ever since all my lag related issues have been resolved.

(Edit: reason why I bought the SSD is also because previous statements here in this thread - so thanks a lot for that ! <3)
__________________
Screapy - Kiky - Mavaril
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.