Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-21-2010, 09:55 PM
jamsen jamsen is offline
Aviak


Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 55
Default

Yes, EQmac server was / is Al'Kabor. I understood that the developer who did the craptastic port of EQ to the Mac had to make sufficient changes to the code base to where it required it's own server, which essentially doomed it to niche status given the state of Mac gaming at the time.

Bootcamp will certainly work for running the Titanium client for Project 1999.

I've been using Parallels Desktop 6, running Windows XP in a virtual machine, given it's enhanced support for 3D graphics (DX9, I believe) and it's been working very well except for the gamma adjustment not working.

I'm in the process of setting the same under VirtualBox to see how that's working. (There are two virtualboxes - both are by Oracle/Sun, but one is binary only that's been derived from the Open Source version.) I don't have a report just yet but I should know in the next couple of days whether or not VirtualBox works.

I attempted to use Wine under Mac OS X but there were a *lot* of graphics issues and the game client crashed quite often. Crossover (once again, that costs $$) may work better.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-21-2010, 11:42 PM
halbar halbar is offline
Aviak

halbar's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 68
Default

VirtualBox may not work since it is unlikely to have Direct 3D support on non-Windows hosts.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-26-2010, 11:18 PM
Tork Tork is offline
Kobold

Tork's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 127
Default

I couldn't get Crossover to work - always threw an error when launching.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-27-2010, 09:22 PM
jamsen jamsen is offline
Aviak


Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 55
Default

I couldn't get the VirtualBox VM to work and I "solved" the gamma problem under Parallels Desktop 6 by altering the gamma adjustment of Mac OS X under Display Preferences (Calibration settings, enabled Advanced and you'll get a gamma adjustment a few screens later.)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-29-2010, 01:24 AM
Dopp Dopp is offline
Decaying Skeleton


Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Hey.

I'm on a mac right now using bootcamp to play on the p1999 server. BUT I also play on EQMac. There is no titanium version of EQ for mac, and Al'Kabor (the mac server) is the only server we can play on, and through the mac client is the only server we can access...

to get a genuine copy of windows 7, doesnt it only cost around 70 bucks? 70 bucks to play a free game seems pretty decent to me!

About EQMac: Yes, we're stuck in the PoP era, with no updates since about 2003. the sleeper still sleeps, and no guild has "beat" the game (since there are no updates... killin' quarm... beats... the game...)

with that said, we also have a progression guild (I am a proud member :]) which is currently in the kunark expansion, after spending about a year in classic...

very cozy little server; if you have a mac you should check us out! we love to see new faces
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-20-2011, 11:52 AM
freakyuno freakyuno is offline
Kobold


Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dopp [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Hey.

I'm on a mac right now using bootcamp to play on the p1999 server. BUT I also play on EQMac. There is no titanium version of EQ for mac, and Al'Kabor (the mac server) is the only server we can play on, and through the mac client is the only server we can access...

to get a genuine copy of windows 7, doesnt it only cost around 70 bucks? 70 bucks to play a free game seems pretty decent to me!

About EQMac: Yes, we're stuck in the PoP era, with no updates since about 2003. the sleeper still sleeps, and no guild has "beat" the game (since there are no updates... killin' quarm... beats... the game...)

with that said, we also have a progression guild (I am a proud member :]) which is currently in the kunark expansion, after spending about a year in classic...

very cozy little server; if you have a mac you should check us out! we love to see new faces
Thought about checking this out. It appears a little broken. Cant create a new account, cant get a subscription going, any advice?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-20-2011, 01:28 PM
dredge dredge is offline
Banned


Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 577
Default

.
Last edited by dredge; 12-12-2012 at 10:49 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-20-2011, 02:36 PM
freakyuno freakyuno is offline
Kobold


Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dredge [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I use bootcamp and windows xp.
I did the free trial month on EQMAC before switching here and was really disappointed.
There's practically no one on EQMAC. Plenty of times I would be one of 2 or 3 people in the whole POK. I did the newbie quests in Misty and didn't see another person the whole time there, never found anyone to group with etc... I'm sure it's better if your high level, but soloing up to high level is no fun to me.

On the other hand, P1999 is great. I was immediately happy to see plenty of people in and around Grobb when I created my Troll Shaman and have been grouping from lv. 3-34 so far.

Skip EQMAC and get a copy of Windows.

btw you have to call to set up EQMAC, they have to tag your account manually.
Screw that noise. I don't want to talk to SOE - I'll stick to P1999. My Mac is a dell anyway running 10.6.6, got plenty of windows machines around that'll do the job, just thought about giving it a shot. Not worth the hassle.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-22-2011, 06:44 PM
rocczilla rocczilla is offline
Large Bat


Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Default

I am getting this error message every time I try to run EQgame.exe with the patchme command in Crossover Games:

StdOut:

StdErr:wine: Unhandled page fault on read access to 0xfffffffc at address 0x1000f0ce (thread 0018), starting debugger...
Unhandled exception: page fault on read access to 0xfffffffc in 32-bit code (0x1000f0ce).
Register dump:
CS:0017 SS:001f DS:001f ES:001f FS:1007 GS:0037
EIP:1000f0ce ESP:0033fa84 EBP:014a0074 EFLAGS:00010202( R- -- I - - - )
EAX:ffffffff EBX:0000001f ECX:00000000 EDX:ffffffff
ESI:0033fad0 EDI:01499b50
Stack dump:
0x0033fa84: 01499b50 014a1550 00000000 10013011
0x0033fa94: 00000830 00000000 00000000 00000002
0x0033faa4: 00000000 0033faf0 1001301d 0033fad0
0x0033fab4: 00000000 01499bf4 00000074 01499b50
0x0033fac4: 00000074 00000003 0000000e 00000000
0x0033fad4: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000003
0200: sel=1007 base=7ffc0000 limit=00000fff 32-bit rw-
Backtrace:
=>0 0x1000f0ce in eqgraphicsdx9 (+0xf0ce) (0x014a0074)
0x1000f0ce: movl 0x0(%ecx,%edx,4),%edx
Modules:
Module Address Debug info Name (155 modules)
ELF 0- 4000 Deferred <wine-loader>
PE 340000- 354000 Deferred dsetup
PE 400000- 9cf000 Deferred eqgame
PE d00000- d58000 Deferred dpvs
PE 1830000- 1b25000 Deferred eqmain
PE 10000000-10c8a000 Export eqgraphicsdx9
PE 21100000-2115f000 Deferred mss32
PE 40000000-40141000 Deferred libwine.1.dylib
ELF 40162000-401f2000 Deferred gdi32<elf>
\-PE 40170000-401da000 \ gdi32
PE 401f6000-401ff000 Deferred libsm.6.dylib
ELF 40400000-4052c000 Deferred user32<elf>
\-PE 40410000-40501000 \ user32
ELF 4052c000-40586000 Deferred



Does anyone know what the unhandle page fault error could be caused by? Please let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:22 PM
Sentioch Sentioch is offline
Decaying Skeleton


Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default

I've had luck with PlayOnMac on OSX. Its basically Wine with a utility built over the top.

I didn't use the CD-ROM install option they have in the app. I just copied all of my Titanium CD content to a directory on my hard drive and pointed the installer at it. The CD-ROM installer may work, but I didn't try.

1. Once you get the app installed. Click on the Install icon in the toolbar.
2. Click the "Install an unsupported application" at the bottom-left of the screen.
3. Step through the wizard and choose "Install a program in a new prefix" when it asks.
4. When you get to "What would you like to do before installation?", choose "Configure Wine".
5. When the Wine config menu comes up. Click the "Graphics" tab. The critical part is you have to setup your virtual desktop (for some reason) to be 800x600 at first. I was getting errors at startup until I did this.
6. Back in the wizard, it will ask "Please select the install file to run". Browse to setup.exe in the install folder and let it rip.
7. When the install is done, it will ask you if you want to create a shortcut. Point it to the eqgame.exe file.
8. Now, you have to add the "patchme" argument when it executes. Go to /Users/yourname/Library/PlayOnMac/configurations/installed/ and open up the file in that directory. Mine is called "EverQuest" because that's what I named the application when I installed. The very last line needs to be changed from
Code:
wine "eqgame.exe" $@
to
Code:
wine "eqgame.exe" patchme  $@
9. All of your EQ files will be in /Users/yourname/Library/PlayOnMac/wineprefix/EverQuest/drive_c/Program Files/Sony/EverQuest. You'll need to apply all of the Project 1999 specific patches here.
10. Run it and cross your fingers!

For reference, I'm using Snow Leopard. I have no idea if you would have different results on Leopard. Framerate seems gets low around player/enemy models. Haven't played with the graphics options enough yet to figure out why.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.