Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 08-15-2014, 03:03 AM
Decaying Skeleton

Default Newbie here. Getting my arse handed to me.

Hey guys. Just deciding to finally post here after coming back from YEARS ago. Finally decided to make a character on Blue. Unfortunately Classic's difficulty to newbies has gone ham on beating me into the floor time and time again. I've died....20ish times so far and just RECENTLY made it to level 5. I barely know anything about this game, and only so far gotten to level 5 because of the know how and generosity of a few people I've run into.

To sum it all up, got some tips and tricks for a lowbie monk that's dying too often?
Old 08-15-2014, 04:15 AM
Kobold

What's your in game name and where are you leveling (or trying to at least hehe)? If I catch you online when I'm on I'll try to help you out a bit.
Old 08-15-2014, 04:32 AM
Kobold

Are you a EQ virgin, or just first time playing classic EQ?

I would say read the wiki, and then do the newbie quests for getting plat and exp. Are you wearing armor? get some armor, you can also make armor by working on tailoring. Make sure to put points into your mele skills. Nothing much else to say, just have to find what you need to do to get from A to B.

Old 08-15-2014, 09:02 AM
Kobold

Consider (/con or "c") mobs before you engage them. Someone as low as you shouldn't be dying that much unless you're attacking things that are even or higher (white, yellow, red). Also: http://wiki.project1999.com/Players:Newbie
Old 08-15-2014, 09:10 AM
Planar Protector

Read this: http://wiki.project1999.com/Players:Newbie

Some tips on how not to die as a monk (most of these aren't just for monks BTW):