Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Old 09-08-2022, 10:20 PM
Large Bat

Default noob here, was thinking of rolling a ranger or a shaman.

i like both the ranger and shaman theming a lot.

however, my favourite race in the game is barbarian. on the other hand, i am interested in pulling and maybe tanking in groups. i want to be on the frontlines, not just sitting down getting carried by the group. can shaman play the way i want or will i just be stuck sitting? also, how hard is it to find groups as a ranger? seems like people might not care for a ranger if they can get any of the normal tanks.
Old 09-09-2022, 12:16 AM
Fire Giant

With Torpor a shaman can hard-carry most groups. However once you get to this point a shaman doesn't really need to group with anyone anymore (can solo most things at this point) unless you have a monk or warrior buddy and want to smash harder things.

As a new player any level of gear playing a shaman is going to contribute more to a group, simply because they are a healer..... even with garbage gear you still have a mana bar, any +mana regen from your group, your cannibilize mana, and heal spells. However they spend a large portion of the leveling experiance (Sitting, getting more mana, and healing) simply because its far more mana efficent, slowing mobs only becomes more mana efficient in the later levels 50+. Also nearly every caster in this game during the leveling experiance except bard will find themselves sitting doing nothing but getting more mana a decent chunk of the time... thats just how casters in this game works.... That said once shamans have Torpor they are NEVER sitting, they can be extremely active and front-lines at that point