Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 02-20-2016, 07:15 PM
Large Rat

Default Starting Fresh

Hi everyone. I am starting fresh with Project 99 and was just wanting to get into the community. I started playing EQ originally in early 2000. Started as a Wood elf Ranger but quickly changed to an Ogre warrior as that is what my friends needed. I eventually adapted to a Dwarf Cleric after they all quit when Wow came out. Anyways, it's been a REALLY long time since i played this version of EQ let alone solo.

I guess what I'm looking for are some suggestions on what race/class combo would get me going quick.Any tips and tricks would help greatly!

Thanks in advance,
--Rithious
Old 02-20-2016, 07:33 PM
Aviak

Welcome to p99 bud; I think the fun will pick up right where you left off before! As for race/class questions - an interesting thread is active right now that may address some of your concerns > http://www.project1999.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=229258

Starting a race with access to EC might be an option to get going quick, FoB and Gfay are both very active. Check out the guides in the wiki too!
Old 02-20-2016, 11:28 PM
Sarnak

Enchanter is my fav class. They can Solo extremely well and are also highly desired in groups. They don't need gear and if you remember that you don't NEED all of your spells they are a super cheap class. Pick any race as long as you pick agnostic.
Don't let anyone insult you by telling you that they are too hard to play.
Old 02-21-2016, 05:56 PM
Kobold

Hail! I'm in the same boat you are. I rolled a barbarian shaman and am having success. If I had any tips to share from being an old-new player myself, it would be to remember what game you're playing. EQ rewards patience and strategy right out of the gate. Don't take unnecessary risks unless you're willing to pay the price. Find yourself a humanoid with a cracked staff and grind away!
Old 02-21-2016, 11:20 PM
Kobold

Quote: