Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101  
Old 03-07-2013, 04:11 PM
hextasy hextasy is offline
Orc

hextasy's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quido [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I also am wondering if anyone has gotten EQ to work in wine with an ATI card on any sort of build. I was considering buying an Nvidia card myself because I've had no luck in lucid lynx.
I've never had any luck with ATI on any linux machine. [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 03-07-2013, 04:23 PM
hextasy hextasy is offline
Orc

hextasy's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35
Default amd64 gentoo wine-1.5.24 - WORKS

I'm happy to say that I got p99 working just fine on my gentoo machine today!

3.7.10-gentoo #4 SMP PREEMPT Wed Mar 6 21:45:01 EST 2013 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GT200 [GeForce GTX 260] (rev a1)

I had to patch the existing wine-1.5.24 ebuild though.

Do some reading on using ebuild. pretty much you'll use 'ebuild wine-x.x.x.ebuild prepare' - then do the patch, then use ebuild .. compile, and finally ebuild .. merge.

I should have been not so lazy, and made an ebuild - but I didn't, so this is what you get [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]

you'll need to edit/patch /var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/wine-1.5.24/work/wine-1.5.24/dlls/d3d9/directx.c :
Quote:
--- directx.c.old 2013-03-07 14:35:59.458000000 -0500
+++ directx.c 2013-03-07 14:15:00.057000000 -0500
@@ -381,6 +381,7 @@

pCaps->MaxVertexShaderConst = min(D3D9_MAX_VERTEX_SHADER_CONSTANTF, pCaps->MaxVertexShaderConst);
pCaps->NumSimultaneousRTs = min(D3D9_MAX_SIMULTANEOUS_RENDERTARGETS, pCaps->NumSimultaneousRTs);
+ pCaps->MaxVertexBlendMatrices=0x4;

if (pCaps->PixelShaderVersion > 3)
pCaps->PixelShaderVersion = D3DPS_VERSION(3,0);
I can't tell you exactly what else I used exactly, to get this working - I may have missed a step (like copying that hex edited d3d9_30.dll to the system32 folder). I tried a lot of things before I had to resort to patching the wine source.

I also used winetricks for core fonts (Including Tomaha, doubt it's needed), mono and the whole d3dx9 package

Be sure to read everyone elses suggestions about disabling the VertexShaders as well.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 03-08-2013, 01:58 PM
quido quido is offline
Planar Protector

quido's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5,433
Default

Yeah I tried a number of such fixes I found, including changing the source and recompiling, and none of them worked with my ATI card. I'm just gonna plop $150 into a cheap Nvidia card or something so I can play EQ from my server, lol.

It actually seemed to work really well right up until you have to get into a real 3d mode (char select).
__________________
Bush <Toxic>
Jeremy <TMO> - Patron Saint of Blue
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 03-19-2013, 06:09 AM
omegadot omegadot is offline
Large Rat


Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8
Default

I tossed EQ on my Linux bartop so I could play and more easily watch what goes on in my house. My kid likes to do his own thing, but I still gotta make sure he's not killing himself(he's 1). I was able to just copy my updated install from windows and run it no troubles using the version of wine in the Ubuntu repos. Had to disable the VertextShader dealie(that laptop rocks intel integrated graphics from around 07) and it was good to go. I debated seeing where the updates are pulled from and writing a gtk/python app to do that for me if it's possible since the neat updater app never worked for me in any WINEses.
__________________
Harminster: L10 Bard
Neemish: L3 Necro
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 03-27-2013, 04:25 PM
Alendria Alendria is offline
Orc

Alendria's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somnia [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Works. I'm not sure if this has been mentioned yet but for me the eqclient.ini wasn't generated until I tried running the game for the first time. From there it's smooth sailing.
Yes, I should have mentioned this back when I got it working. I copied the Titanium install from my Windows PC over into .wine/c_drive so I already had an eqclient.ini file generated. After adjusting that file it worked great.

Only oddity I have noticed is sometimes when I launch EQ the game will run at like half speed of what it should (lots of video lag, like it's running at 5fps or something). It's clearly evident at char select with the toon animations. I'll just quit out and restart until it loads properly. Can't tell if it's a Wine problem or the fact my laptop is 5+ years old.

Another interesting thing I found is that when I have that half speed instance running and I exit, eqgame.exe cleanly shuts down as a process should when it's closed. When eqgame.exe is actually running properly and I exit, the process hangs and has to be kill -9'd to drop properly. The wonderful mysteries of Linux!
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 08-02-2013, 05:55 PM
Eslade Eslade is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: The Lab
Posts: 2,097
Default

I might be in over my head a little bit here, but I've been trying to run a copy of EQ Titanium that I installed in windows and then copied into a Linux wine directory. I got it to work, but I ran into the head banging on desk no character models bug.

I've replaced the d3dx9_30.dll with the http://funcamp.net/w/d3dx9_30.dll one. I've editied the ini file to turn off vertex shaders and what not. I'm about to try to install ATI proprietary drivers and see if that works.
This is the exact laptop that I'm trying to use, except I have 3 gb of ram and my processor is 3.4ghz.
http://www.linlap.com/hp_pavilion_zd8000
It's running Mint 15 32bit. Ive kinda ran out of Ideas short of scratching everything and starting over again.
Last edited by Eslade; 08-02-2013 at 05:58 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 08-20-2013, 05:06 AM
Handpartytowel Handpartytowel is offline
Sarnak

Handpartytowel's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 302
Default

anyone have some wisdom on what causes/fixes the issue with the login server not showing any servers?

copied the eqclient.ini file wholesale to get to this point.

i am running ubuntu 13.04 + wine 1.6 with no modifications. also i copied a working eq folder from my windows box.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 08-20-2013, 07:33 AM
Smedy Smedy is offline
Planar Protector

Smedy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,553
Default

Can confirm that handpartytowel is running linux to isolate the everquest related processes in a clean virtual windows box, resulting in antihax.dll scanning a clean windows envoirment while on the linux side he can use haxx.dll to sniff the packets routed to the virtual machine and track people and pixels.

I think a ban is in order.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slathar View Post
you clean plaque off peoples teeth for a living and are only able to do that because your daddy hired you. your waist is also wider than your shoulders and you’re 5’2.
Videos
Wipe it clean.
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 08-20-2013, 08:15 AM
Handpartytowel Handpartytowel is offline
Sarnak

Handpartytowel's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 302
Default

haxx.dll best .dll
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 08-30-2013, 02:34 PM
mgellan mgellan is offline
Fire Giant

mgellan's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hextasy [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I've never had any luck with ATI on any linux machine. [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
^^^ This! I never run an ATI card in any Linux machine, just a pain in the ass.

Regards,
Mg
__________________

OMNI Officer (Retired from EQ)
Check out my P99 Hunting Guide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.