Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 04-25-2020, 03:18 PM
Skeleton

Default Father of elementary aged kids that want to play, questions

Hello, I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask but I thought I'd start here.

I've been an EQ fan since 1999. I started playing P1999 off and on a few years ago. Recently with everything going on IRL I found myself playing a lot more recently. I have young kids that watch me play and are interested in playing with me.

I'd told them that they can perhaps play when they are older, but I feel kinda bad when they play their MineCraft while I play EQ next to them and they want to play.

A few concerns I have:
  1. I know boxing is not allowed, and I can petition for these accounts to bypass the IP restriction, but I'm sort of paranoid that since my kids are young elementary and not proficient w/ reading and writing that someone might think I'm boxing them
  2. Since the children are young, I'm also worried about them not necessarily following the P99 rules and possibly getting banned. And would they ban my account as well if they are linked?
  3. If I did create accounts for them, would it make sense to have them linked to my forum account or create a forum account for each? I'd prefer linking them to mine (over-protective dad worried about stranger danger)

What do you all think? I'm sure they'd enjoy the game.
Last edited by legoblocke; 04-25-2020 at 03:19 PM.. Reason: Added additional question
Old 04-25-2020, 03:26 PM
Planar Protector

*emphatic* No, this game will mess with their neurological development, I really recommend they stick to more creative or constructive tasks like minecraft.

Perhaps you should learn to set the example?