Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Green Community > Green Server Chat

Closed Thread

Old 01-13-2020, 11:27 AM
Aviak

Default Fake EC tunnel prices

So I wanted to take it easy and play my hand at this whole EC tunnel trading.

I figured I take my 2k plat and see what I can do with it over a few days by finding deals and flipping items.

Well lately I've notice that some people will spam for example a Polished Steel Dirk that is roughly valued in the 800-1200 range, but the spam it for 10p or 20p and if you PM them they never reply just keep spaming the item/price.

Is this some type of tactic to force the market down? The other thing I could think of was the tracking sites like say Wiki been hit with these prices and confusing people what the value is.

Maybe since I'm new to playing the market there's something I don't know and out of the loop when it comes to price manipulation in the game.
Old 01-13-2020, 11:44 AM
Planar Protector

The prices on the wiki are simply from chat logs submitted by players, so it only shows what the items' asking prices are, what people actually pay for them is another matter entirely.

So its possible that people are trying to skew the prices on the wiki this way. I'm not much of a tunnel rat so more detailed reasons and tactics could be in play I guess.
Old 01-13-2020, 12:04 PM
Planar Protector

It's worth noting that wiki god Ravhin recently added a way to correct auction logs in the wiki. If you see an item that has clearly false entries in the wiki, PM me and I'll try to fix them.

I've already fixed the Polished Steel Dirk, but the changes aren't showing up in the wiki. I'm guessing Ravhin caches them every night, so check back tomorrow and I'm guessing it will be fixed then.

Hopefully once people learn about this, and that such fake entries don't work, they'll stop wasting everyone's time and give the practice up (I have better things to do in life than clean up some asshole's fake auctions).